The library's online catalog searches items available in not only HPU Libraries, but also libraries in our area (Triad Academic Library Association) and around the world. If you find an item in our catalog that is not available at HPU, you may be able to go to a local TALA library and check it out, or request to borrow it from another library through Interlibrary Loan.
Top Psychology Databases
The collections below are some of the library's core resources for study of Psychology. To access databases for related fields, search the library's Databases A-Z list by subject name; for example 'communication' or 'education'.
- PsycINFO via EBSCO This link opens in a new windowPsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. This database from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
In PsycINFO, use the Thesaurus to find the assigned terminology for your concepts. Or, after you do a search, scan the 'Subject: Major Heading' list on the left to find the assigned terminology. This will give you a more precise search.
- Psychology - Annual Reviews Online This link opens in a new windowA prominent scholarly journal covering developments in the field of psychology. Some full text articles available for download.
- PsycALL Search via EBSCO This link opens in a new windowPsycALLis a collection of materials containing PsycArticles, PsycTESTS, PsycINFO.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA citation search tool that indexes over 75 million articles and records. Each citation contains a detailed abstract and links to its references, along with links to resources cited by. Scopus provides links to full-text articles HPU Libraries already subscribes to, as well as links to publisher pages.
Related Health Science Databases
The study of psychology has contact with many medical and allied fields. The databases listed below contain information on medical issues, including those in the nursing and allied health professions​.
- PubMed (HPU-specific link) This link opens in a new windowComprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full text articles from PubMed Central or publisher websites. Use the Journal Finder icon next to article entries to check for access in HPU Libraries' collection.
- CINAHL Complete on EBSCO This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is an authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare and contains the full text of nearly 600 journals.
- MedlinePlus via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowBrings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies and health related organizations. This database also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian!
Quick Tips - starting your search
1. Identify a few keywords or concepts that describe your topic. Enter these into the search boxes in the catalog and database collections.
2. Use the limiters along the left side of your results list to narrow your search further, including by date and type of publication.
3. If you are asked to select primary research articles over secondary research, look for telltale signs: a Method, or Methodology section, and a Results section. Read carefully, but these sections should indicate if and how the authors conducted their own original study.