LibGuides: *Psychology Subject Guide: Statistics

Top 5 Statistical Sources for Psychology

Mental Health Issues in the U.S. via Statista
This dossier from the library's Statista database provides information on regional aspects of mental illness, prevalence of the most common mental health issues in the U.S. and the connection between mental illness and substance use.
Mental Health Treatment in the U.S. via Statista
This dossier from the library's Statista database provides information on treatment utilization, treatment types, hospitalization for mental disorders, and facilities that provide mental health treatment.
National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS compiles vital records data, population surveys, provider surveys, and can provide health statistics by topic.
The National Institute of Mental Health Information Resource Center
Includes currently available statistics on the prevalence and treatment of mental illnesses among the U.S. population. In addition, information is provided about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States on ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstracts of the United States were compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau, and represents a collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. For Psychology topics, search in section 3: Health and Nutrition.

Quick Tips for statistical searching:

1. Stay Focused

It's best to have a clear idea of your main research question, as well as the subquestions you're looking to answer, before you wade into statistics. This will help you stay intentional while searching, and keep you from getting overwhelmed by the data. For help in nailing down your research question, see the skill tutorial on the Topic Development page, or ask your librarian for help.

2. Who Cares About Your Topic?

Meaning, what agency or organization would be interested in gathering data related to your topic? For example, if you're researching 'depression in college students', many organizations report on this area: university counseling centers; major hospitals (think Mayo Clinic); federal agencies, such as SAMHSA and NIMH; professional organizations like the APA and ADAA. Thinking contextually in this way can lead you to sources of reliable data and reports on your topic.

3. Locate Relevant Organizations Online

If you are looking for the agencies or organizations relevant to your topic, try this Google search tip: Isolate the main keyword or phrase for your topic, and pair it with '.gov', as this will (ideally) prioritize government websites in your results. The same can be done for .org, though keep in mind that any website can purchase a .org domain, while .gov is a protected domain for government agencies.

Example search string: Learning Disabilities, .gov

To narrow by location: Learning Disabilities, North Carolina, .gov