Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where do I start?
Welcome to the research guide for Exercise Science! This guide will support your research in Exercise Science and related fields of study.
The databases listed below are some of the most popular used by students doing research for their EXS courses. Depending on your topic, you may want to explore other resources using the tabs on the left side of the guide. Remember, you can always ask a librarian for help!
Exercise Science Databases
The following databases are your "best bet" for finding research in the exercise science field.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text on EBSCO
CINAHL is an authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare and contains the full text of nearly 600 journals.
PEDRO - Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro, the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, is a free database of randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. You can search the database for bibliographic details, and sometimes full text, of trials, reviews and guidelines using this Advanced Search page or the Simple Search page. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health. For more information please visit the PEDro home-page.
ProQuest Central via NCLIVE
The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
PubMed (HPU-specific link)
Comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full text articles from PubMed Central or publisher websites. Use the Journal Finder icon next to article entries to check for access in HPU Libraries' collection.
Provides full-text access to thousands of core titles in the Social and Life Sciences, as well as access to the Elsevier journal collection.
Sports Market Analytics (SMA) from SBRNet
A dedicated resource of market research for sport business, SBRNet allows you to locate information by sport, sporting goods, team, market, and more.