chat loading...
Skip to Main Content

School of Education Resource Center: Award Winners

This guide will help you navigate the physical and electronic resources available through the School of Education Resource Center.

Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

North Carolina Children's Book Award

The North Carolina Children’s Book Award program is a children’s choice program sponsored by school and public librarians in North Carolina and is designed to introduce children to current children’s literature and to instill a love of reading. The award is given annually to one picture book and one junior book.

National Book Award

The National Book Award is given every year to honor outstanding contributions to American literature in several categories. One of those categories is, of course, young people's literature.

Scott O'Dell Award

Scott O'Dell established this award in 1982 to encourage authors of children's and young adult books to focus on historical fiction. The award consists of $5,000 and is given to the most distinguished historical fiction novel for children published in the previous year. The award promotes the genre to children, sparking an interest in the past in young readers.

Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Geisel Medal

The (Theodor Seuss) Geisel Medal is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. Named for the most recognized children's author of the 20th century--Dr. Seuss--this award distinguishes titles of significance in what many call the "easy reader" category.

Sibert Medal

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book for children published in the United States in English during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of Robert F. Sibert, the long-time President of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. of Jacksonville, Illinois. ALSC administers the award.

Coretta Scott King Award

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

Need Help? Ask a Librarian!

Orbus Pictus Award

The NCTE Orbis Pictus Award  was established in 1989 for promoting and recognizing excellence in the writing of nonfiction for children. The name Orbis Pictus, commemorates the work of Johannes Amos Comenius, Orbis Pictus—The World in Pictures (1657), considered to be the first book actually planned for children.

Charlotte Huck Award


The NCTE Charlotte Huck Award® for Outstanding Fiction for Children was established in 2014 to promote and recognize excellence in the writing of fiction for children. This award recognizes fiction that has the potential to transform children’s lives by inviting compassion, imagination, and wonder.