Please review the video tutorials and information on this page, then complete the CHECKPOINT at the bottom.
If you have any questions, please feel free to ask a librarian.
About Our Database Collections
HPU Libraries subscribes to over 34,000 journal publications, and collects top peer-reviewed medical literature from sources such as JAMA and Nature. We also collect ebooks, medical e-textbooks, diagnostic tools, instruction videos, and other resources. Our digital content is organized across a collection of over 200 databases, and patrons can search our list of database collections using the Databases A-Z list linked from the library homepage.
How You Access a Database Matters
While it is possible to Google major database collections such as AccessMedicine or Scopus, you need to be 'proxied' into a database to access subscription content. You would do this either by clicking into a database via the library's website or saving proxied stable links to individual content items (we will discuss stable links later in the module).
'Supercharge' Your Searches with MeSH (or Subject) Headings
While keywords are the foundation of boolean searching, using official 'tags' or subject headings associated with your topic will provide you with a more focused and thorough set of results. Not sure which MeSH or subject headings relate to your research? Try looking up terms in a database thesaurus, such as the one in PubMed or our CINAHL collection. You can then continue searching for materials in those collections or take the subject headings with you to try in other databases. See our Advanced Database Searching guide for more detailed information on subject searching.
Consider Using a Citation Manager
Citation managers help keep track of the articles and other resources you find. They can also help you with in-text and bibliographic citations. You can use EndNote citation management software to:
1. Import references and store article PDFs directly from databases
2. Access references from anywhere using EndNote Web
3. Capture references for a webpage with the push of a button
4. Highlight and annotate directly onto PDFs
5. Organize research into libraries & share with your colleagues
6. Cite as you Write! Embed citations directly into your paper.
HPU Libraries maintains a subscription to EndNote! We'll talk about ciations managers more in Part 2, but you may access more information on Endnote HERE!
To complete this CHECKPOINT please complete the following:
1. Using the ProQuest Health & Medical Collection obtained in the previous CHECKPOINT, search the databases using a topic of your choice limiting your results to the last 5 years
2. Choose an article title from your results and, on the article's description page, view the subject headings listed in the Details section
3. Select the "Get Full Text" button to see if you can view the full article
4. Briefly review the links to related articles listed in the "Related Items" box
5. Select the "All Options" button to view export options for citation managers
(EndNote users: select "RIS" - you will learn about EndNote in Part 2).
6. Using the Cite button, copy the AMA citation for your article and paste it into your Word document.
REMINDER! You will upload this document in your CHECKLIST for Part 1!