Accessing Library Content
Please review the video tutorial and information on this page, then complete the CHECKPOINT at the bottom.
If you have any questions, please feel free to ask a librarian.
Research Materials via HPU Libraries
HPU Libraries contains access to 750,000 ebooks, 34,000 journal titles, 110,000 streaming films, and a host of other content. The collection is also fully searchable through the catalog on the library’s homepage. We regularly purchase books, ebooks, films, streaming videos, and current digital periodicals to meet the research needs and the intellectual growth of our patrons.
While some of our database collections link out to open access materials, most of the content available through the library is subscription-based and purchased in support of our High Point University community. Your HPU username and password is your key to unlocking thousands of academic journals, and hundreds of thousands of streaming films and ebooks!
HPU Libraries also has a health sciences specific website. Watch the short video below to learn more about the site and how to navigate its contents.
HPU Libraries: Health Sciences Website Navigation Turoial
What to Expect When Accessing Library Content
When accessing library databases or other library content, you will need to go through an HPU Libraries website portal. You will not have full access to HPU-purchased content when searching for a database on the open web.
When you click into a library database, or open a link to an article or ebook from our collection, you will be prompted to log in with your HPU username and password (the same one you use to access your HPU email account). Fortunately, in most cases you will only need to login once, unless you close your browser or your session times out.
The Login Screen Looks Like This:
If you cannot log in to your HPU email and Blackboard account, you will not be able to log in to our resources either, and you will need to reset your password. If you know your login is correct, try clearing your browser data.
The main thing to remember: Go through the library website to access library resources!
Chat with us if you encounter issues accessing our content remotely and we will help you troubleshoot.
CHECKPOINT: Navigate the Library's Health Sciences Website
Using the Health Sciences Library website, please locate the access link for our Health & Medical Collection in ProQuest database. You will use this for the next CHECKPOINT.
A NOTE ABOUT CHECKPOINTS! For each CHECKPOINT, you will be asked to complete various tasks. Start a new Word document for Part 1 (you may use other software and convert the document to a PDF for submission). As you progress through each CHECKPOINT, enter the requested information on your document. You will submit that document at end of the module when completing the CHECKLIST on the final tab. An example of a completed CHECKLIST document is below:
