HPU Libraries Workshop Series
HPU Libraries offers a variety of workshops for faculty and staff throughout the academic year. These workshops demonstrate how to leverage the resources and services available through HPU Libraries.
Upcoming Workshops are found on the Library Workshops page.
Do you have an idea for workshop that would benefit you and your colleagues?
Contact reference@highpoint.edu.
Have an idea about a media or technology workshop? Contact media@highpoint.edu.
Examples of previous workshops include:
How to Use Our Most Wanted Resources: Learn how to navigate library access to The Chronicle of Higher Education, Consumer Reports, major newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and New York Times, leisure reading materials, and streaming video content.
Introduction to Canva: Canva can be an easy-to-use alternative to Photoshop and other design programs. In this workshop, we will help you get started with the free version of Canva, so you can begin creating dynamic designs for both.
App-y Hour: Discover and share apps for school, work, and productivity, and learn how to maximize mobile tools available through the library.
How to Podcast: Learn the best practices for planning a podcast, recording audio, conducting interviews, editing audio files, and disseminating your work online.
Magazines, Journals, News, Dissertations
ProQuest Central via NCLIVE
The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
JSTOR
This database provides access to historical coverage of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage goes back to the first issue (some as far back as the 1800s), but does not include the most recent issues (usually last 3-5 years).
Chronicle of Higher Education
News articles on topics pertaining to colleges and universities, including management in higher education. The Chronicle also collects data on student demographics, tuition trends, educator salaries, and other areas. Users can create alerts for the latest articles on topics of interest.
New York Times on ProQuest via NCLive
Current, full-text access to the NYT from 1980 to present. Includes the Late Edition Daily plus the Sunday newspaper.
Wall Street Journal via NCLIVE
Access to the Wall Street Journal, which covers breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world. Users can also set up alerts for the latest articles on topics of interest.
Trends & Statistics
Statista
This industry statistical data source allows you to find statistics and reports on companies, products, and industries.
Consumer Reports via NCLive
Consumer Reports is a publication by an independent nonprofit organization (Consumer Reports) with the mission of testing products and making unbiased product reviews available to consumers.
Citation Guides via HPU Libraries
- APA Quick Citation GuideThe library's printable quick guide to APA with just the basics on paper formatting and reference list citations.
It also includes select pages from a sample paper, including a student title page, first page, and reference list.
- Chicago Style Quick GuideThis is a copy of our guide for using Chicago (footnotes and end notes) as a style guide when writing a paper.
- MLA 8th Quick Citation Guide and Sample PaperThis MLA quick guide uses the 8th edition of the MLA manual. The MLA format method for citations changed in 2016.