Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Research Guide for Education Law!
Use this guide to find information on full text laws, landmark court cases, and historical perspectives on legal issues pertaining to education.
Start here: Credo Reference
Credo Reference via NCLIVE
Credo is a database of background content. It's full-text and can help you learn the basics of any topic. Start your research here to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.
Full Text Laws
From the Cornell Legal Information Institute. Title 20 is the section for education.
NC General Statutes
From the NC General Assembly website. You might want to look under chapter 115C.
Also from LII--the link jumps straight to the "education" sections of state law.
eBooks on Education Law & Policy
Encyclopedia of Education Law by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008-06-27
The entries cover a number of essential topics, including the following: Key cases in education law, including both case summaries and topical overviews, Constitutional issues, Key concepts, theories, and legal principles, Key statutes, Treaties (e.g., the Universal Declaration on Human Rights), Curricular issues, Educational equity, Governance, Rights of students and teachers, Technology, Biographies, Organizations. In addition to these broad categories, anchor essays by leading experts in education law provide more detailed examination of selected topics.
Education Law by
Publication Date: 2004-09-22
Educational Law provides a comprehensive survey of the legal problems and issues that confront school administrators and policymakers. The book combines the strengths of the traditional casebook and those of the legal treatise. It also discusses the implications of the law for educational policy and practice.
Law and Education Inequality by
Publication Date: 2015-07-24
Over the past decade, No Child Left Behind, Common Core, Race to the Top, data mining initiatives, Title IX gender equity, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Americans with Disabilities Act, and executive actions on immigration illustrate key federal initiatives that have redefined standards, priorities, and practices within educational institutions. Similarly, state policies in terms of school funding, school choice, teacher qualifications, student bullying, and other measures have added another layer of complexity to the education law and policy dialogue particularly when addressing matters of education inequality. These emergent policies beget the question: how have these policies contributed to easing the effects of educational inequality? The purpose of this book is to examine the role of law as potentially countering or impeding desirable education reforms, and it calls on readers to consider how policymakers, lawyers, social scientists, and educators might best alter the course in an effort to advance a more just and less unequal educational system.
A Teacher's Guide to Education Law by
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
This clearly written text, which is adapted from its parent volume, Education Law, 3e, provides a concise introduction to topics in education law that are most relevant to classroom teachers. The greater the likelihood of litigation or error in some area of professional practice, the more extensive the discussion. Topics concerning teacher relationships with their students include: student rights, discipline, negligence, discrimination, and special education.
The Law of Higher Education by
Publication Date: 2013-12-23
The Law of Higher Education, Fifth Edition: Student Version provides an up-to-date textbook, reference, and guide for coursework in higher education law and programs preparing higher education administrators for leadership roles.
E-Books on Special Education Law
The Comprehensive Guide to Special Education Law by
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
It is vital for all professionals in the field of education to have a practical understanding of the laws that are in place to protect the children with whom they work. The Comprehensive Guide to Special Education Law is a detailed yet accessible introduction to federal law as it applies to the rights of children with special needs. Written in a user-friendly question and answer format, the book covers all of the key areas of special education law including parental rights of participation, the legal right to Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) and related services, and the complex issues.
The Praeger Handbook of Special Education by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006-12-12
Addresses substantial information gaps in the field of special education. This handbook focuses on the ways that special education policies and practices are formulated and enacted. See the chapter on Law and Special Education.
A Guide to Special Education Advocacy by
Publication Date: 2009-01-15
Disability law can be complex and intimidating, so how can concerned parents use it to ensure their child with a disability receives the appropriate education they are legally entitled to?. A Guide to Special Education Advocacy gives strategies for advocating for better provision of special education in schools. Despite the many services and accommodations that have been made for students with disabilities, such as the use of Braille or providing specialized education in a regular or special classroom, many children with disabilities do not get the services they need.
Distinguishing Disability by
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Students in special education programs can have widely divergent experiences. For some, special education amounts to a dumping ground where schools unload their problem students, while for others, it provides access to services and accommodations that drastically improve chances of succeeding in school and beyond. Distinguishing Disability argues that this inequity in treatment is directly linked to the disparity in resources possessed by the students' parents. Since the mid-1970s, federal law has empowered parents of public school children to intervene in virtually every aspect of the decision making involved in special education.
Disability Matters by
Publication Date: 2002-09-30
Authored by a legal specialist and an education professor, this study is targeted to everyone involved in the education of students with disabilities and provides a full examinatiaon of the legal issues. Each chapter blends classroom vignettes and teachable moments with relevant legal rights and responsibilities of all school personnel.
Righting Educational Wrongs by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Righting Educational Wrongs brings together the work of scholars from the fields of disability studies in education and law to examine contemporary struggles around inclusion and access to education. Specifically, contributors examine disability related policies and practices as they contribute to or undermine educational access for individuals with disabilities.
Ethics and Law for School Psychologists by
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
The premier text for ethical and legal issues associated with school-based psychological practice Ethics and Law for School Psychologists is the single best source of authoritative information on the ethical and legal issues school psychologists face every day. Designed specifically to meet the unique needs of psychologists in school settings, this book includes the most up-to-date standards and requirements while providing an introduction to ethical codes, ethical decision making, and the legal underpinnings that protect the rights of students and their parents.
Current Trends and Legal Issues in Special Education by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019-06-05
Readers will find: the most up-to-date information on how to effectively implement special education programs, processes, and procedures examination of a wide variety of issues, from developing and implementing individual education programs (IEPs) that confer a free appropriate public education, Section 504, least restrictive environment (LRE), and successfully collaborating with parents, to issues regarding accountability, staffing, bullying, early childhood special education, multi-tiered systems of support (MTSS), evidence-based practices, transition, discipline, and the school-to-prison pipeline extensive references and resources.
Special Education Law Case Studies by
Publication Date: 2019-01-12
Tremendous changes have occurred over the past decade in the provision of services to students with disabilities. Federal mandates continue to define requirements for a free appropriate public education (FAPE) in the least restrictive environment. Additionally, there has been an increase in the number of lawsuits filed against school districts regarding the provision of educational services for students with disabilities. Case studies are a helpful way to understand these difficult issues.