Criticism & Analysis
Books
To search for books of criticism in the library catalog, try one of the searches below in the library catalog:
- Shakespeare criticism
- [Title of work] criticism
Here are a few examples of what you can find:
Shakespeare, Midlife, and Generativity by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780807134887Publication Date: 2008
Databases
Although articles about Shakespeare can be found in a wide variety of databases, these resources are most likely to have critical analyses of Shakespeare and his work. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more information!
- MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Modern Language Association, this resource provides access to scholarly journal articles, books and dissertations on the subjects of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as rhetoric and the teaching of language and literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to historical coverage of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage goes back to the first issue (some as far back as the 1800s), but does not include the most recent issues (usually last 3-5 years).
Journals
There are numerous journals devoted to Shakespeare and his contemporaries. Here are a few of the journals available in the HPU Libraries on this topic.
Works
HPU Libraries has copies of Shakepeare's works available for checkout, including collections of his complete works and individual plays. Search the library's online catalog for individual titles or browse the 822.33 area on the 3rd floor of Smith Library.
The Riverside Shakespeare by Call Number: 822.33 JR52ri 1997ISBN: 9780395754900Publication Date: 1996
Many of Shakespeare's works are also available for free in ebook format online. Here are a few sources for finding Shakespeare's works online.
- Project GutenbergThe first free producer of ebooks in the public domain, Project Gutenberg contains over thousands of ebooks, including editions of Shakespeare's works.
- Folger Digital Texts - Folger Shakespeare LibraryDigital texts of Shakespeare's works from the largest Shakespeare collection in the world.
- Open Source Shakespeare ConcordanceSearches Shakespeare's complete works for all the usages of a particular word or word form.