Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HPU Libraries provides a number of general reference sources that can be a great place to go for background information, definitions, and overviews of a particular topic. Not finding what you need? Just ask a librarian!
Tips for Searching the Catalog:
1. Use the limiters! For example, searching within the "books" tab will focus the search to books and ebooks.
2. Use your Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT). Think of different keywords for your topic (e.g. marketing OR advertising OR "public relations")
3. Put quotation marks around phrases when you want to search words in a specific order (e.g. "public relations")
Reference sources can be a great place to go for general background information, definitions, and overviews of a particular topic. Not finding what you need? Just ask a librarian!
Communication Theory Encyclopedia from Sage
More than 300 entries related to communication theory, offering current descriptions as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories.
Credo Reference via NCLIVE
Credo is a database of background content, containing full-text entries to help learn the basics of any topic. Start your research here to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.
Search individual or multiple online encyclopedias and dictionaries covering a wide range of subjects, from science to education to history.
These databases organize their content by topic to help you find information on current issues. Not all the articles in these databases represent opinions. Some provide information that may help you support your argument, bring in another perspective, or help you refute an opposing argument.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games.
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher via NCLIVE
In-depth coverage of some of the most controversial topics of our day in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.