Education Databases
The following databases are your "best bet" for finding articles for education research:
- Education Database on ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowResearch on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
The premier database for education research, ERIC provides access to over 1 million journal articles, curriculum guides, dissertations, reports and other resources.
Related Databases
These databases may also be helpful to your research. Still not finding what you need? Ask a librarian for help! You can also explore all of our databases through Resources A-Z on the library homepage.
- PsycINFO via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. This database from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to historical coverage of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage goes back to the first issue (some as far back as the 1800s), but does not include the most recent issues (usually last 3-5 years).
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Current and historical research related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
- ProQuest Central via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
- Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new windowSocial Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences
- Google Scholar (HPU-specific link) This link opens in a new window
Use this link to connect Google Scholar with HPU's collection of full-text journals. You will be asked for your HPU username and password if off-campus.
Select Journals in Pedagogy
Innovative Higher Education by 1976 - Present
Action in Teacher Education by 1997 - Present
Journal of Teacher Education by 1959 - Present
College Teaching by 1953 - Present
Other Resources
- Lexile Framework for ReadingProvides a chart for interpreting Lexile® reading levels provided in databases at right.
- Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, such as educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Some of the journals included are Educational Administration Quarterly, Review of Higher Education, and Journal of Educational Administration. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, including coverage dating back to 1966.
Education Database Searching Tips
As you construct a search for education research, make sure to include search terms for the following:
- Level of education: Are you searching a specific grade level or grade range? Include keywords like kindergarten, primary, elementary, k-12, middle, high, secondary, college or "higher education" in your search.
- Subject or discipline: You may need to include a subject as well as a grade level focus. Try keywords like science, STEM, literacy, art, English, special or general education to focus your research to your area.
- Type of school: Is your search limited to a specific type of school? Keywords like public, private, for-profit, charter or magnet school will help narrow your search.
- Geographic location: You may want to limit your search to specific geographic areas. Use the location filter or add keywords like "United States" or "North Carolina" to narrow your search and filter out research from other countries. You can also distinguish between urban and rural schools.
- Any important acronyms associated with your topic. For example, instead of just searching "response to intervention" try searching for ("response to intervention" OR RTI).
Pay attention to the currency of the research. Education is constantly evolving and research from 20 years ago is of limited value.
