chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Student Library Guide : Research Tools

An Overview of Library Services & Resources for Graduate Students

Library Catalog

The library's online catalog searches, not just items available at HPU Libraries, but items available at libraries in our area (Triad Academic Library Association) and libraries around the world. If you find an item in our catalog that is not available at HPU, you may be able to go to a local TALA library and check it out, or request to borrow it from another library through Interlibrary Loan

Searching for Articles

 

To find an article on a specific topic, you can use one of the library’s many article databases. Our full list of databases is available if you click on Databases A-Z in the left-hand menu on our library page. 

To find articles that are scholarly and/or peer-reviewed, you can search Scopus. Scopus is a resource that indexes and abstracts about 24,000 journals. Links to Journal Finder and the publisher website are included. Other databases, such as ProQuest Central, provide an option to limit your search to only those articles that are scholarly and/or peer-reviewed.

If you need help with choosing appropriate keywords, navigating the databases, narrowing your searches and finding full text, please contact us by email or phone or use the chat box on the right-hand side of the library main page.

Finding a specific journal

To find the full text of a specific article, click on Journal Finder in the left-hand menu under “Research.” Enter the title of the journal that the article was published in to see if the library has access to that title. If the library has online access to that title, you will see a computer icon next to the name of the journal. If we have print access, you will see a book icon.

If we have online access, click on the computer icon, and then check to make sure that we have access to that journal for the date that your article was published. If we do not, you may consider trying Interlibrary Loan. If we do own the article, click on the option that will give you access to that date. Find the specific volume and issue number in which your article was published and then locate your article within that issue. Need more help finding full text just contact us by email or phone, or use the chat box on the right-hand side of the library main page.

What if the library doesn't have what I need?

Interlibrary Loan 

If we don't have a book that you need, we can request it for you from another library through Interlibrary Loan. This process typically takes 1-2 weeks. 

You can also place requests for articles through Interlibrary Loan. We can usually get articles to you within 1-3 days. 

To request an item (book, article, or other) log into your HPUShare account. More information about ILL can be found on the ILL page

Triad Academic Library Association 

Need it in a hurry? Through the Triad Academic Library Association (TALA), you can go to any of the libraries below and use your HPU Passport to check out materials:

In addition, members of the HPU community can check out materials from the High Point Public Library with your HPU Passport. 

We recommend calling the library first to find out what their policies are, to verify that the item is available, and to get information on where to park, etc. If you have additional questions, just ask us!

Accessing Resources from Off Campus

When you attempt to access a library resource, such as a database, from off-campus, you should be prompted to enter your HPU username (without “@highpoint.edu”) and password. Once you enter this information, you should be given access to that resource. Always make sure to use the links located on the library home page, rather than a link from the open web.

 If you have forgotten your user name or password, or you need to change your password follow this link

Search for Dissertations

Research by Subject

Each discipline has its own unique set of resources for research and citation. HPU Libraries has created individual research guides for each subject, and individual courses may also have their own guides. Consult the subject guide for your discipline to determine the best resources to use for your particular assignment, or ask a librarian!