Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA Citation Guide: Articles

DATABASE: Scholarly Article / Newspaper / Magazine

Lastname, Firstname, MI. “Article Title.” Journal Title, vol. #, no. #, Season Publication date,

Page(s). Title of Database, DOI. 


Example: With DOI

Chan, Yaocheng. "Postmodernism and Hong Kong Cinema." Postmodern Culture, vol. 10, no. 3,

May 2000, pp. 1-10. Project Muse, doi:10.1353/pmc.2000.0021.

In text: (Chan 7)

Lastname, Firstname, MI. “Article Title.” Journal Title, vol. #, no. #, Season Publication date,

Page(s). Title of Database, URL.

 

Example: Without DOI

Susina, Jan. "Relentless Progress: The Reconfiguration of Children's Literature, Fairy Tales, and

Storytelling." Children's Literature Association Quarterly, vol. 34, no.3, Fall, 2009, pp.

304-7. ProQuest Central, search.proquest.com.libproxy.highpoint.edu/docview/232441914?

accountid=11411.

In text: (Susina 306)

Lastname, Firstname, MI. “Article Title.” Journal Title, vol. #, no. #, Season Publication date,

Page(s).Title of Database, DOI. (or URL, if no DOI is available)


Example: Two Authors

Spencer, Brett, and Nancy H. Dewald. "NASA Reshapes Libraries: The Space Program's Impact

on Academic Libraries, Special Libraries, and Archives." Science & Technology Libraries,

vol. 34, no. 4, 2015, pp. 299-314. ProQuestdoi:10.1080/0194262X.2015.1102676.

In text: (Brett and Dewald 303)

Lastname, Firstname, MI. “Article Title.” Journal Title, vol. #, no. #, Season Publication date,

Page(s).Title of Database, DOI. (or URL, if no DOI is available)


Example: Three or More Authors

De Clercq, Barbara, et al. "Childhood Personality Types: Vulnerability and Adaptation Over

Time." Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry, vol. 53, no. 6, 2012, pp. 716-722.

ProQuest, www.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/childhood-personality-types-

vulnerability/docview/1013735072/se-2?accountid=11411.

In text: (De Clercq et al. 720)

ONLINE: Scholarly Article / Newspaper / Magazine

Follow as for “DATABASE: Scholarly Article / Newspaper / Magazine”, adjusting as follows:

 

Lastname, Firstname, MI. “Article Title.” Journal Title, vol. #, no. #, Publication date, Time, Title of

Website, URL. Accessed Day/Month/Year.


Example:

Fassler, Joe. “The First Sentence is a Handshake.” The Atlantic, 29 Oct. 2014. The Atlantic Monthly

Group, www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2014/10/william-gibson-by-heart/382027/.

Accessed 14 July 2016.

In text: (Fassler)

PRINT: Scholarly Article / Newspaper / Magazine

Follow as for "DATABASE: Scholarly Article / Newspaper / Magazine", but end with the Page(s).

Example:

Nelson, Walter R. "Some Examples of Plank House Construction and Their Origin." Pioneer America,

vol. 1, no.2, July 1969, pp. 18-29.

In text: (Nelson 19-20)

Article Citation Tips

“Article Title” is in quotation marks.

No Author?

If there is no author credited, start the citation with the “Article Title.”

Page Numbers: 

For single pages, use ‘p.’ followed by the number:  (p. 8)

For multiple pages, use ‘pp.’ followed by the numbers: (pp. 10-12)

If an article is not printed on consecutive pages, cite only the first page number in the range, followed by a plus sign:  pp. A1+.

Publication Date: 

Where available, is written as: Day Month Year.  Example: 23 Aug. 2003

Months are written / abbreviated as follows: Jan.   Feb.   Mar.   Apr.   May   June  July   Aug.   Sept.  Oct.   Nov.   Dec.

Season(s): 

Write in full.  Examples: Spring   Summer   Fall/Winter  etc. 

Publication months or "seasons" must always be included, if available.     

A Note about Newspapers

If the name of the city is not included in the title of a newspaper, add the city name (not in italics) in square brackets after the title of the paper. Omit A, An or The from the title for the ‘In text’ entry. 

Example: The Star-Ledger [Newark]

                In text: (Star-Ledger 12)

For a nationally published newspaper, you do not need to use square brackets to identify the city.

                Example: The New York Times

                In Text: (New York Times 8)