*Global Studies Subject Guide: Databases & Encyclopedias

Credo is a database of background content, containing full-text entries to help learn the basics of any topic. Start your research here to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.

The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.

Multi-topic database, featuring pro/con articles on national and international issues. Click on the 'World Culture and Politics' tab for international articles on globalization, human rights, terrorism, poverty issues, etc.

Search individual or multiple online encyclopedias and dictionaries covering a wide range of subjects, from science to education to history.

Provides extensive coverage of the literature in environmental science, ecology, sustainability, pollution, water management, and other areas within this multidisciplinary field.

The premier database for education research, ERIC provides access to over 1 million journal articles, curriculum guides, dissertations, reports and other resources.

GSD offers over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity.

This database provides access to historical coverage of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage goes back to the first issue (some as far back as the 1800s), but does not include the most recent issues (usually last 3-5 years).

Produced by the Modern Language Association, this resource provides access to scholarly journal articles, books and dissertations on the subjects of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, rhetoric, and the teaching of language and literature.