Search for eBooks in the Library Catalog
You can easily search our e-books through our online catalog. Once you do a search, you can check the box for eBooks under "Format" on the left side of the results screen. To access an e-book, simply click the "View Now" button under the title, then the "View eBook" link.
Below is an example of a search for War and Peace:
eBooks for Research
-
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text ebooks on a variety of topics. Search across the entire collection by title, author, or keywords.
-
eBook Central (ebrary) on ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
This collection of ebooks provides texts from a wide range of publishers covering numerous disciplines.
-
Bloomsbury Collections (ABC-CLIO Ebooks) via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks covering history and literary criticism. Includes a large collection of American slave narratives. Formerly known as ABC-CLIO Ebooks.
-
BiblioBoard Anthologies This link opens in a new windowContains anthologies, which are curated collections of books, images, documents, artifacts, sounds and video related to a specific theme. BiblioBoard's anthologies differ in size and scope, but generally you will find dozens of books and other pieces of media related to a topic.
-
Springer eBook collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks with a science focus, covering such topics as computer science, engineering, mathematics, physics, and medicine. Springer also includes a number of textbooks.
-
Business Expert Press This link opens in a new windowBusiness Expert Press's Digital Libraries provide practical, concise books covering specific areas of business, including supply and operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy.
-
HomeGrown eBooks Collection via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowThis Module from NC LIVE contains a wide selection of content including fiction, nonfiction, mystery & suspense, horror, fantasy, travel guides, and more.
eBooks for Leisure Reading
You can find many classic novels in eBook format by simply searching the library catalog, Open Library, or Project Gutenberg.
If you want to read more contemporary, popular fiction, however, take a look at OverDrive.
The OverDrive collection includes over 4,000 popular and classic eBooks and audiobooks, many of which are available to read on your Kindle. You can also download their Libby app or use their in-browser reader.
Click the image below to take a look at our OverDrive collection!
eReference Collections
HPU Libraries provides access to a variety of general and subject-specific online encyclopedias. These eReference collections include:
-
Credo Reference via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
Credo is a database of background content, containing full-text entries to help learn the basics of any topic. Start your research here to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearch individual or multiple online encyclopedias and dictionaries covering a wide range of subjects, from science to education to history.
eAudiobooks
HPU Libraries offer thousands of audiobook titles. Electronic sources for streaming and downloadable audiobooks include:
Hoopla is a library streaming platform for both the web and mobile. Their services offered include audiobooks, e-books, comics, graphic novels, music, movies, and TV shows. With your HPU account, you have access to their entire collection of media that they offer.
LibriVox is run by a worldwide group of volunteers who record and read texts in public domain. This gives users access to their library of over 40,000 audiobooks. They are free for anyone to listen to on their computers or mobile devices. Users are also free to burn these audiobooks onto CDs for use if they choose to.
Open Access eBook Collections
- Open Library eBooks
Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive. Its goal is to create a webpage for every book ever published. The State Library of NC has contributed books to this project and participates in the lending library, which allows you to download titles to read on your computer or another device.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them, or read them online. The collection is multi-disciplinary, and focused on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a collaborative of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of over 17 million titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Google Books
Titles in the public domain are freely accessible.