LibGuides: *Pharmacy Subject Guide: Consumer Health

Consumer Health Resources

CINAHL Complete on EBSCO This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is an authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare and contains the full text of nearly 600 journals.
MedlinePlus via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
Brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies and health related organizations. This database also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
PubMed (HPU-specific link) This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full text articles from PubMed Central or publisher websites. Use the Journal Finder icon next to article entries to check for access in HPU Libraries' collection.

Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
healthfinder.gov
Website from U.S. Department of Health and Human Services providing information and tools to promote healthy lifestyles.
Lab Tests Online
A public resource on clinical lab testing from laboratory professionals.

Merck Manual Home Edition via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
The Merck Manual provides authoritative overviews of medical topics, symptoms, drug and supplement information, and recent medical news.

Top 100 Health Websites You Can Trust
Provided by CAPHIS, this list expands on the one provided by the Medical Library Association.