LibGuides: *Pharmacy Subject Guide: Home

Pharmacist's Letter

A Pharmacist's Letter subscription is available to students and to faculty in the Fred Wilson School of Pharmacy. To activate your account, click the appropriate link and follow the setup.

Faculty use this link to register and then have access to the Pharmacist's Letter.

Pharmacy students can use this link to register and then have access to the Pharmacist's Letter.

Once the account is established use Pharmacist's Letter's site to login and enjoy your access. Pharmacist's Letter is a service for pharmacists covering new developments in drug therapy, and trends in pharmacy practice. You can also find practice quizzes and study modules. The service provides totally objective and unbiased data and advice related to drug therapy.

Saving Links for Later

Don’t save the main link you see in your browser bar. The link will expire in 24 hours, and you will not be able to return to the article. Instead, click on the permalink or Document URL (you will see either the word or an icon of a link) and copy and paste from there.

Health Science Library Website

Health Sciences Library Page
Search health and medicine specific content available through HPU Libraries.

UpToDate Mobile App

UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support resource for healthcare professionals. It provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of a wide range of medical conditions. Learn how through the short presentation below.

*** Please note that the layout of UpToDate has changed slightly. The links to Drug Interactions, Patient Education, and Calculators are now listed beneath the main search bar, as well as accessible through the three lines on the top right of the webpage.

For off-campus and mobile use you need to create a login. Users must be on campus to create a login, and will be required to use a '.highpoint.edu' email account to complete the registration. This registration lasts 3 months. After 3 months, you will be asked to re-register your account. You must be on HPU Wi-Fi to re-register and initial registration of accounts.

UpToDate Mobile App by HPU Media Services

Please contact us with any questions about using UpToDate.

USP-NF/PF

USP-NF stands for United States Pharacopeia - National Formulary. It is a combination of two compendia that serve as the official public standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements in the United States. The USP primarily focuses on drug substances and dosage forms, while the NF includes standards for excipients (inactive ingredients). PF stands for Pharmacopeial Forum. It serves to publish proposed revisions to USP-NF standards.

USP-NF is available online with over 5,000 quality standards for medicines, active pharmaceutical ingredients, and excipients.

The presentation below will show you how to make a free account and contains tutorials on how to search within the online interface.

USP account (pharma) by HPU Media Services

Pharmacy Databases

UpToDate and UpToDate Anywhere

UpToDate is a continuously updated medical resource for clinicians. UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence on diagnosis, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. For off-campus and mobile use you need to create a login. Users must be on campus to create a login, and will be required to use a '.highpoint.edu' email account to complete the registration.
MicroMedex

Micromedex maintains 'clinical checklists' for diseases, laying out procedures from diagnosis through treatment. Micromedex also contains a drug database for searching drug information and comparing prescriptions.
Access Medicine

Provides access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks; connects researchers to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus, which allows students to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
Access Pharmacy

Provides access to videos, self-assessment, and over 50 leading medical textbooks; enables faculty to create, track, and report their students' progress through a curriculum tool that eases workflow; and allows practicing pharmacists to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.
MedlinePlus via NC LIVE
Brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies and health related organizations. This database also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Merck Manual Home Edition via NC LIVE
The Merck Manual provides authoritative overviews of medical topics, symptoms, drug and supplement information, and recent medical news.
Sanford Guide Web Edition
Integrates Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy, Sanford Guide to HIV/AIDS Therapy, and Sanford Guide to Hepatitis Therapy into a single searchable collection of point-of-care recommendations for the treatment of infectious diseases. Includes interactive features, such as dosing calculators and algorithms.

UpToDate and UpToDate Anywhere

UpToDate is a continuously updated medical resource for clinicians. UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence on diagnosis, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. For off-campus and mobile use you need to create a login. Users must be on campus to create a login, and will be required to use a '.highpoint.edu' email account to complete the registration.
MicroMedex

Micromedex maintains 'clinical checklists' for diseases, laying out procedures from diagnosis through treatment. Micromedex also contains a drug database for searching drug information and comparing prescriptions.

MayoClinic - Drugs and Supplements
Consumer health information on prescription and over-the-counter drugs and supplements.

MedlinePlus Drugs, Herbs, & Supplements

Look up prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines for information on side effects, dosage, and special precautions. MedLine Plus also enables users to browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.

APhA Pharmacy Library
Naplex review tools and self assessments
Pharmacotherapy modules
Textbooks
Review books
Over-the-counter drug resources
Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
A product of the Food and Drug Association, this resource: To provide timely consumer information on generic drugs, the Electronic Orange Book is updated daily as new generic approvals occur.

DailyMed - Pharmaceutical Information
DailyMed provides a standard, comprehensive, and up-to-date resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.
Natural Medicines
Look up information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Natural Medicines also enables users to check how a supplement interacts with other drugs and products.

USP-NF/PF
USP-NF stands for United States Pharacopeia - National Formulary. It is a combination of two compendia that serve as the official public standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements in the United States. The USP primarily focuses on drug substances and dosage forms, while the NF includes standards for excipients (inactive ingredients). PF stands for Pharmacopeial Forum. It serves to publish proposed revisions to USP-NF standards. Use this link to log in to USP-NF/PF. You must create an account to access. Refer to the presentation on the homepage of this guide to get directions on how to do so.

PubMed (HPU-specific link)
Comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full text articles from PubMed Central or publisher websites. Use the Journal Finder icon next to article entries to check for access in HPU Libraries' collection.
Health & Medical Collection in ProQuest via NC LIVE
Contains clinical, biomedical, and health journals. Clinical researchers can access high-impact titles including Lancet, New England Journal of Medicine, Nature titles, and more. Also includes curriculum-based health videos, offering highly sought after visual content to complement text information sources.
CINAHL Complete on EBSCO
CINAHL is an authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare and contains the full text of nearly 600 journals.
DailyMed - Pharmaceutical Information
DailyMed provides a standard, comprehensive, and up-to-date resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.
Scopus
A citation search tool that indexes over 75 million articles and records. Each citation contains a detailed abstract and links to its references, along with links to resources cited by. Scopus provides links to full-text articles HPU Libraries already subscribes to, as well as links to publisher pages.

JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association
Published continuously since 1883, JAMA is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal, and currently the most widely circulated general medical journal in the world.
JAMA internal Medicine
An international peer-reviewed journal providing research for practitioners in general internal medicine and internal medicine subspecialties. JAMA Internal Medicine is a member of the JAMA Network, a consortium of peer-reviewed, general medical and specialty publications.
JAMA Pediatrics
An international peer-reviewed journal, and the oldest continuously published pediatric journal in the United States. JAMA Pediatrics is a member of the JAMA Network, a consortium of peer-reviewed, general medical and specialty publications.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, this collection provides current and scholarly information on the complete range of health care topics.

New England Journal of Medicine
NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content. Each year, NEJM receives more than 16,000 research and other submissions for consideration for publication. About 5% of original research submissions achieve publication by NEJM; more than half originate from outside the U.S.

ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals
The ACS is a leading source of scientific information through its peer-reviewed scientific journals, national conferences, and the Chemical Abstracts Service. Its publications division produces 51 scholarly journals including the prestigious Journal of the American Chemical Society, as well as the weekly trade magazine Chemical & Engineering News.
SciFinder
SciFinder provides access to journal and patent information on chemicals and chemical formulas. Register to search the SciFinder interface. Please note: you must be campus to register.
PubChem
PubChem provides information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and more for small molecules and some larger molecules.

NAPLEX Study Tools: McGraw Hill

Naplex Study Tools & Review Guide
Access flashcards, create custom quizzes, and find review materials based on the NAPLEX exam.

Rx MasterClass YouTube Channel

Rx MasterClass YouTube Channel
The NAPLEX MasterClass was meticulously crafted by Board-licensed pharmacists who are passionate about helping students and pharmacists like you reach their goals.