chat loading...
Skip to Main Content

April 4th-13th: The Library Student Survey is active!

All students should have received an e-mail invitation to take the survey with the subject line “Your Opinion Matters: Take the Library Student Survey!”

Please take a moment to fill out this short, anonymous survey and help us improve library services.

World War One: Image Credits

This Research Guide is intended to highlight WWI materials available in the libraries of HPU, as well as databases and web resources.

IMAGE CREDITS

All the images used in this Research Guide are for educational use only

INTRODUCTION:

Gassed.  John Singer Sargent, 1919.  Imperial War Museum, London.  http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/23722

RESEARCH TOOLS:

Wanted for Murder: Bill Hohenzollern. 1918. DPLA. http://digital.ncdcr.gov/cdm/singleitem/collection/p15012coll10/id/1763

PEACE IS LOST:

Italian Animal War Postcard (1914-1918).  World War I Postcards fom the Bowman Gray Collection (UNC-CH). http://dc.lib.unc.edu/cdm/compoundobject/collection/graypc/id/1435

BY LAND: 

British Tank:  Britannica Online

American Machine Gunners, 1918.  Imperial War Museum, London. 
http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/205244871?bt=europeanaapi

The Battle of the Somme (1916). British troops advance across barbed wire. Imperial War Museum, London. http://www.europeana1914-1918.eu/en/europeana/record/2022360/Imperial_War_Museums_http___www_iwm_org_uk_collections_item_object_205316071

A German trench-mortar with gun crew, concealed in a front line dug-out, 1916. Imperial War Museum, London.http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/16632

BY SEA: 

HMS Invincible.  Imperial War Museum, London.  http://media.iwm.org.uk/iwm/mediaLib/10/media-10900/large.jpg?action=d&cat=photographs

German Submarine, UC5.  Imperial War Museum, London. http://media.iwm.org.uk/iwm/mediaLib/276/media-276582/large.jpg?action=d&cat=photographs

Everett, Herbert B.J. A convoy of the First World War, c.1918. Royal Museums, Grenwich, London. http://collections.rmg.co.uk/collections/objects/12160.html

Work in the Dog Watches, HM Submarine, L7. 1918. Imperial War Museum, London. http://media.iwm.org.uk/iwm/mediaLib/178/media-178813/large.jpg?action=d&cat=art

British Submarines of World War I.  Imperial War Museum, London.  http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/205314991?bt=europeanaapi

Big Guns.  National Archives, Netherland.  http://proxy.handle.net/10648/afa09512-d0b4-102d-bcf8-003048976d84

BY AIR:

Nose and one engine of a Handley Page heavy bomber. 1918.  Imperial War Museum, London. http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/205247577?bt=europeanaapi

German Zeppelin L13, 1916.  Imperial War Mseum, London. http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/205087798

German Triplane, 1917.  Imperial War Museum, London. http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/205194952

Baron Manfred von Richthofen. n.d. Imperial War Museum, London. http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/205213472?bt=europeanaapi

Captain Eddie Rickenbacker. n.d. Imperial War Museum, London. http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/205086760?bt=europeanaapi

AT HOME:

Shop for Machining 15-inch Shells: Singer Manufacturing Company, Clydebank, Glasgow, 1918. Imperial War Museum, London. http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/103?bt=europeanaapi

A land girl, plouging. 1918. Imperial War Museum, London. http://www.europeana1914-1918.eu/el/europeana/record/2022360/Imperial_War_Museums_http___www_iwm_org_uk_collections_item_object_149

A female worker assists with the alignment of a ship's propeller on Tyneside. The First World War Poetry Digital Archive. University of Oxford. http://www.oucs.ox.ac.uk/ww1lit/collections/photo

Woman planing a propeller.  Imperial War Museum, London.  http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/205183433

WORDS:

Wilfred Owen (1893-1918) Britannica Online.

Rupert Brooke (1887-1915).  Britannica Online.

Siegfied Sassoon (1886-1967). The First World War Poetry Digital Archive. University of Oxford.http://www.oucs.ox.ac.uk/ww1lit/collections/sassoon 

Vera Britain (1893-1970). The First World War Poetry Digital Archive. University of Oxford.  http://www.oucs.ox.ac.uk/ww1lit/collections/brittain

All Quiet on the Western Front (Book Cover): https://s3.amazonaws.com/libapps/accounts/7835/images/All_Quiet_on_the_Western_Front.jpg

PICTURES:

Britons: Join your country's army! 1914. Imperial War Museum, London. http://www.europeana1914-1918.eu/en/collection/search?q=+Britons%3A+Join+your+country%27s+army!+&qf[]=index%3Aa&utf8=%E2%9C%93

Gee! I wish I were a man! 1917. US Navy. http://www.history.navy.mil/photos/images/h63000/h63193a.jpg

The Menin Road.  1919. Paul Nash. Imperial War Museum, London. http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/20087?bt=europeanaapi

An advanced medical dressing station, 1918. Henry Tonks.  Imperial War Museum, London. http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/26420

What if you came back to this? (n.d.) Colorado College: World War One Poster Collection: American Red Cross. http://www2.coloradocollege.edu/library/SpecialCollections/HistoricalCollections/WWI/ARC076.html

Books wanted for our men in camp and "Over there".  (n.d.) Colorado College: World War One Poster Collection: American Library Association. http://www2.coloradocollege.edu/library/SpecialCollections/HistoricalCollections/WWI/ALA176.html

http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/205086760 - See more at: http://www.europeana1914-1918.eu/en/europeana/record/2022360/Imperial_War_Museums_http___www_iwm_org_uk_collections_item_object_205086760#sthash.m1kBd343.dpuf

MUSIC & SOUNDS:

Over there. Cohan, George, M. 1917. Duke University Digital Collections: Historic American Sheet Music.                                              

http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/hasm_n1170/

It’s a long, long way to Tipperary. Judge, J. & Williams, H. 1912. Duke University Digital Collections: Historic American Sheet Music.
http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/hasm_n1187/

Keep the home fires burning; Till the boys come home. 1915. Duke University Digital Collections: Historic American Sheet Music.
http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/hasm_n1211/

AMERICA in WWI:

General John J. Pershing, commander of the U.S. Independent Army of World War I in Europe. Library of Congress: America's story. http://www.americaslibrary.gov/jb/jazz/jb_jazz_pershing_1.html

American troops at Southampton embarking for France. Derrick Thomas (1918). Imperial War Museum, London. http://www.iwm.org.uk/collections/item/object/7408

Harry S. Truman in World War One Uniform, 1918. National Archives. http://research.archives.gov/description/6789282