It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History Subject Guide: Newspapers
Use this subject guide to get started with research in History.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.--Gale Cengage Learning
Explore top newspapers from a selection of national, international and local papers. If you don't see a title you are looking for, search your title in Journal Finder. Still need help? Please contact us or chat in. We would love to help you!
News articles on topics pertaining to colleges and universities, including management in higher education. The Chronicle also collects data on student demographics, tuition trends, educator salaries, and other areas. Users can create alerts for the latest articles on topics of interest.
Full text coverage from Jan 6, 1988 (Vol. 34, no. 17) - present (delayed 1 month)
Full-text print issues of the Greensboro News and Record can be found in the Smith Library Newspaper Collection. Only the latest month is available.
Full-text digital editions can be found from 1996 to 2007.
Full-text print issues of the High Point Enterprise can be found in the Smith Library Newspaper Collection. Only the last 3 months are available.
Full-text digital editions can be found from 2000 to 2009.