U.S. Statistics -- Recommendations
North Carolina Statistics
- Statistics and Demographics from the State Library of North CarolinaProvides links to general statistics sites for the state as well as a list of NC data sources by subject.
- Public Schools of North Carolina - Department of Public InstructionIncludes the North Carolina School Report Cards as well as other education data for North Carolina public schools.
- North Carolina State Center for Health StatisticsSCHS is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports, and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics.
- LINC (Log Into North Carolina) - Census and local data This link opens in a new windowLINC provides statistical data on North Carolina. Includes statistics in population and housing, vital statistics, social and human services, energy, government, employment and income, and more.
National Statistics
These are just a few of the government websites that provide access to statistical information. To find more, search for your topic in Google and add site:.gov to the end of your search.
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsThis department's mission is "to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government."
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsPrincipal statistical agency for labor economics in the US. Great site for employment/unemployment and occupational statistics.
- Digest of Education StatisticsContains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education.
- National Center for Education StatisticsThe National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- National Center for Health StatisticsThe nation's principal health statistics agency.
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice StatisticsCompiled by researchers at the University of Albany, this source brings together data from more than 200 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistical data on over 80,000 topics, and reports on companies, products, markets, and industries. Statistics and reports are formatted in clear visualizations and include their citation information, as well as links to related sources and topic reports.
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States on ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstracts of the United States were compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau, and represents a collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. ProQuest offers the most recent editions of the Statistical Abstracts.
Public Opinion Polling
- High Point University Survey Research Center (SRC)The SRC conducts high quality public affairs and social science research using a variety of qualitative and quantitative methods.
- Pew Research CenterCovers U.S. public opinion, global attitudes, the impact of the internet on American life, the role of religion in public life, the changing experiences of Hispanics in the United States, and policy trends throughout the 50 states.
- Gallup.comProvides a daily look at Americans' opinions on hot topics, such as Presidential approval, unemployment, and the economy.