Skip to main content

Leisure Reading: Find Your Next Read!

Smith Library

The new ReaderSpace, located on the main floor at Smith Library and located directly to your right as you enter, is designed to help you find your next read! Titles are grouped into shelves of New Non-Fiction and New Fiction, which is further arranged by genre. Rotating displays of literary award winners and literary classics are changed regularly. Collections of journals, magazines, and newspapers are also available in the ReaderSpace. Come browse our collections and read a while in our comfortable reading space!

NEW FICTION GENRES INCLUDE:

       

 

FICTION (GENERAL COLLECTION): For more popular fiction, classics, short stories, poetry, plays, etc., check out the 800's section on the third floor of Smith Library. With over 6,500 books to choose from, you are certain to find something to love! Click here to browse this collection.

 

SCI-FI/FANTASY COLLECTION: If you are a fan of this genre, you will want to browse this collection located across from the elevators on the third floor of Smith Library. Here you will find roughly 1,000 books from well-known authors in the genre. Click here to browse this collection.

School of Education Resource Center

The Resource Center located on the first floor of the School of Education is not just for education majors! Faculty, staff, and students outside education are encourage to use their passport to check out books from the following collections:

JUVENILE COLLECTION: For a nostalgic experience, check out our collection of 1,600+ children's novels. We have all the classics, Newbery winners and new and popular books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Some others in the collection (Roald Dahl, for example) are loved by all ages! Click here to browse this collection.

 

PICTURE BOOKS: If you have little ones in your life, this collection is a gem. From time-tested authors like Dr. Seuss to new and notables like Mac Barnett, we have a huge variety of over 1,000 illustrated books available for checkout. Click here to browse this collection.

 

BIG BOOKS: Also of note at the Resource Center is a small collection of "Big Books"--picture books in an oversized format which are especially useful for reading aloud to groups of children. Great for story circles! Click here to browse this collection.

Magazines & Newspapers

MAGAZINES: Latest issues of popular magazine titles are available to read (but not check out) at both Smith Library and the Learning Commons.

            

Ten children's magazine titles are available to check out from the SOE Resource Center.

 

NEWSPAPERS: The latest issues of the High Point Enterprise, Greensboro News & Record, Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Triad Business Journal and Chronicle of Higher Education are available in the ReaderSpace.

Learning Commons

YOUNG ADULT: Although technically intended for readers aged 12-18, the "young adult" or YA genre of books--which includes the Harry Potter, Hunger Games and Divergent series'--is popular with adults as well. The Martha Luck Comer Learning Commons houses an impressive collection of over 800 new and notable YA titles. Click here to browse this collection.

 

GRAPHIC NOVELS: The Learning Commons is also home to the library's growing graphic novel collection, which currently includes around 100 titles. Notable titles include the complete Walking Dead and Game of Thrones series'. Click here to browse this collection.

 

COLLEGE LIFE COLLECTION: The Learning Commons is also home to a niche collection of books tailored to helping students navigate living in the college environment.

 

Do you know the title of the book you are searching for? Search the library's full collection here: