Black's Law Dictionary
-
Black's Law Dictionary
by
ISBN: 9781539229759Publication Date: 201911th edition, hardcover. For more than a century, Black's Law Dictionary has been the gold standard for the language of law. This edition contains more than 50,000 terms, including more than 7,500 terms new to this edition. It also features expanded bibliographic coverage, definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms and reviewed and edited Latin maxims.
Current edition available in Westlaw
American Jurisprudence 2d & Corpus Juris Secundum - National Encyclopedias
American Jurisprudence Trials, accessible within Westlaw, contains articles authored by practicing attorneys and covers all areas of litigation. The articles provide trial-tested litigation tools to secure better settlements and verdicts.
American Jurisprudence Proof of Facts is available in Westlaw. Written by well-known judges, attorneys and experts in technical, scientific and medical fields. Explains how to determine quickly and confidently the facts essential to winning a case, and how to prove them for a wide range of civil litigation and selected criminal defense topics, including: personal injury/torts, employment litigation (discrimination, harassment and wrongful termination), real estate litigation, business torts, and commercial litigation. Also highlights which cases to avoid due to difficulties or failures in proof. Includes strategies and aids that cover every stage of trial preparation (in 3rd Series).
Comprehensive Treatises on Federal Jurisdiction
Lexis+ Resources
- Federal Secondary Materials
- Stephen A. Salzburg, Michael M. Martin, & Daniel J. Capra, Federal Rules of Evidence Manual
Westlaw Precision
- Newberg and Rubenstein on Class Actions
- Cyclopedia of Federal Procedure
- Federal Procedure, Lawyers Edition
- Steven S. Gensler, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure: Rules and Commentary
- Wright & Miller, Federal Practice & Procedure
Understanding Federal Courts and Jurisdiction
Current Awareness through Bloomberg Law
Treatises / Hornbooks / Study Aids on Federal Practice:
West Academic Study Aids
- Donald L. Doernberg, Federal Courts in a Nutshell West Academic Study Aids.
- Charles Alan Wright & Mary Kay Kane, Law of Federal Courts West Academic Study Aids.
Westlaw Precision Resources
- Eric J. Magnuson & David F. Herr, Federal Appeals: Jurisdiction and Practice Westlaw Precision.
- Thomas W. Hutchinson et al., Federal Sentencing Law and Practice Westlaw Precision.
- Edward Brunet, John T. Parry & Martin H. Redish, Summary Judgment: Federal Law and Practice Westlaw Precision
Lexis+ Resources
- Gregory P. Joseph, Sanctions: The Federal Law of Litigation Abuse Lexis+.
Bloomberg Law
- Stephen M. Shapiro et al., Supreme Court Practice: For Practice in the Supreme Court of the United States Bloomberg Law.
Law of Federal Courts and Federal Appellate Practice & Procedure in a Nutshell
Most current Nutshells & Hornbooks are available via West Academic Study Aids (6th link down on DePaul's Treatises, Practice Guides & Study Aids Database List)
-
Law of Federal Courts
by
ISBN: 9780314290373Publication Date: 2017Available in West Academic Study Aids -
Federal Appellate Practice and Procedure in a Nutshell
by
ISBN: 9781636592701Publication Date: 20173rd ed. (2023) is available in West Academic Study Aids
Department of Justice Manual
Federal Judicial Center
Deskbook for Chief Judges of the U.S. District Courts 4th edition available here in PDF
Current edition (4th) also available in Westlaw
ABA/Bloomberg (formerly BNA) Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct
Federal Standards of Review
