Welcome to the University!
My name is David Bryden (dbryden@ 336-841-9215) and I am the Director of Library Services. I do hope that you will use the library, both our physical and digital offerings, as you work with students and complete your own research. Whether it is access to the most current journal, checking out a camera from media services, or inviting a librarian to your class to work with students on a research project, we want to provide high quality resources and services to meet your needs.
The library liaisons constructed this library guide to help you become acquainted with our library and the services that we offer, so please enjoy and as always, let us know if you have questions or concerns.
Our mission is simple:
HPU Libraries actively support and deliver exceptional educational experiences that challenge, prepare and empower learners to achieve lives of success and significance.
The main library on campus, providing both versatile study spaces, as well being home to a wide variety of items that are available to check out: audiobooks, board games, books, DVDs, media equipment, music (CDs and LPs), and much more!
Two classrooms (LEC1 and LEC2) are located on the first floor for regularly scheduled classes, in addition to three reservable spaces (Instruction Lab, Group Lab, and Media Lab) providing varying teaching environments. Please check the Spaces page on the library website for availability and to book a space.
The Learning Commons houses a collection of Young Adult fiction titles, as well as providing a large comfortable study space for quiet and individual study. Computers and printers can also be found in this location. Our two outdoor balconies offer alternative work spaces, with views over campus.
The SOE Resource Center houses a children’s book collection and education-related materials. Faculty from all departments can check out materials from the collection, and can attend storytime events with their children.
Available 24/5 during the regular semester, you or your students can chat with an HPU librarian using the Ask a Librarian chat box on the library homepage or by using one of our chat widgets within databases and research guides.
HPU Libraries subscribes to over 230 database collections, and provides access to over 785,000 eBook titles.
Search the Databases A-Z list to find multi-disciplinary or subject-specific databases.
To look up a journal publication, search the title in our Journal Finder tool linked from the library’s homepage.
The library's catalog, searchable from the library's homepage or the link below, allows you to search our entire collection of print and e-books, DVDs, and electronic resources.
Take a look at the tutorial video below to learn more about the catalog!
The library’s website offers access to helpful online guides that can provide resources necessary for successful research in all subjects. These guides contain links to library resources as well as relevant and credible web sources.
Please contact your departmental liaison librarian if you're interested in having a guide created for one of your courses!
There are four types of research guides:
Document Delivery provides for the retrieval and delivery of HPU library materials and ILL materials to the campus address designated in your Library account. This service is provided for HPU faculty only. Please contact email@example.com with any questions regarding Document Delivery services.
Items available for delivery:
Please allow at least one to two business days for items to be processed and delivered by Campus Mail.
To select Campus Address Delivery: Once you have found the desired item using the library’s catalog search, click on the “Interlibrary Loan Request/Campus Delivery (faculty only)” button. In the resulting form, there will be a drop down menu called “Pick Up Location.” Select “Campus Address (Faculty Only)”.
If HPU Libraries does not own an item needed for your research, you may request the item from another library through Interlibrary Loan. This service is available to HPU students, faculty, and staff. Items that can be borrowed include books, audio and visual items, articles, microform items, etc.
Articles can be delivered electronically to your email in about 1-3 days. Books take between 1 and 3 weeks. Please keep in mind when requesting materials that these are average turnaround times. Instructional or specialty video and audio materials, dissertations, music scores, and most other types of items can be requested. Items can be picked up at the Circulation Desk in Smith Library.
HPU faculty are encouraged to submit requests for library collection purchases in support of teaching and research goals. Each department is allocated funds to purchase books, ebooks, movies and other content to develop the collection at the University. Speak with your department head about their policies on material purchases.
Please check the catalog to see if we already have an item before making your request.
Each department on campus is assigned a liaison librarian with background knowledge of their assigned discipline. The liaison serves as your primary contact with the library and can support your research and teaching by:
The HPU Libraries Reference & Instructional Services librarians provide library instruction in numerous forms to HPU faculty, staff, and students.
In support of the library’s mission, we offer the following services:
The research instruction policy can be found on the About page of the library website. Please contact Lauren Ksa if you have questions. The policy explains scheduling and session practices, including:
HPU Libraries maintains reserve collections and electronic access to course-related materials to support the University’s academic programs. Books and other materials are placed in reserve collections and circulate for shortened loan periods. Articles and other documents are scanned and made available electronically as PDFs.
HPU Libraries Media & Digital Services is a multifaceted department with various services on offer for faculty. From managing titles in the film collection, to offering instruction sessions for media projects, to hosting VR sessions for classes, Media Services is here to help.
Create and innovate in our Media Lab Makerspace and Mini Studio:
Browse over 12,000 movie and TV show titles on DVD and Blu-Ray:
The Print Shop, located on the first floor of Smith Library, is available for you and your students' academic printing projects.
Print Shop services include: