Background Information
Background Information
Reference sources can be a great place to go for general background information, definitions, and overviews of a particular topic. Not finding what you need? Just ask a librarian!
- Credo Reference via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowCredo is a database of background content, containing full-text entries to help learn the basics of any topic. Start your research here to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearch individual or multiple online encyclopedias and dictionaries covering a wide range of subjects, from science to education to history.
Topic Databases
Topic Databases
These databases organize their content by topic to help you find information on current issues. Not all the articles in these databases represent opinions. Some provide information that may help you support your argument, bring in another perspective, or help you refute an opposing argument.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints covers todays' hottest social issues and includes published opinion essays, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
- Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowIn-depth coverage of some of the most controversial topics of our day in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- SIRS Issues Researcher via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowProvides background and current analysis of 360+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between.
Statistics & Data
Statistics & Data
You can find additional resources on our Statistics Guide, or ask a librarian for help!
What do you want to write about?
Before you start writing, take some time to think about what you want to write about. What topic is interesting to you? Then do some research to learn more about the issue and develop your research strategy!
Skill Tutorial: Choosing a Topic
Skill Module: Choosing a Topic
This module walks through the process of choosing a viable topic, and transforming that topic into a research question.
Review the boxes on each tab, including the questions at the bottom to check for understanding. Once you have reviewed the tabs, complete the quiz at the end.