LibGuides: Off-Campus Access: eBook Sources

Academic eBook Collections

You can also access individual collections of eBooks through the following links. The advantage of doing this is that you can browse eBook titles by subject rather more easily than through the catalog search.

eBook Central (ebrary) on ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
This collection of ebooks provides texts from a wide range of publishers covering numerous disciplines.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text ebooks on a variety of topics. Search across the entire collection by title, author, or keywords.
Taylor & Francis Event Management eBooks This link opens in a new window
Over 13,000 ebooks with a focus on event management. Search ebook content at both the book and chapter level, filter search results by subject area, publication date and year published, and create citations in APA format.
Engineering Database from ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
A collection of engineering core eBooks offered through the EBSCO platform.
Springer eBook collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks with a science focus, covering such topics as computer science, engineering, mathematics, physics, and medicine. Springer also includes a number of textbooks.
Open Source Education Textbooks via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
Free, open e-textbooks for 30 of the most frequently-taught courses across North Carolina's 2-year and 4-year colleges and universities. Includes curated collections in Arts & Humanities, STEM, Social Sciences, and Business.

eBook Access Permissions & Restrictions

When selecting library eBook content to share with students, please be aware that access permissions and restrictions vary by title. The database record for the title will usually give this information. Lending models include:

Unlimited User Access: Unlimited users can view the book in their browsers simultaneously.
Limited User Access: A specified number of "copies" are available for viewing simultaneously. If there is only one, the person viewing the book will need to close it before another can view it.

...among others. Be sure also to check limits for printing and saving. Many titles will allow you to download a PDF of a limited number of chapters which you can then share with students.

Fiction eBook Collections

OverDrive eBooks This link opens in a new window
This is an excellent resource with hundreds of popular fiction eBooks and audiobooks to choose from. You can download the dedicated app (Libby) or send books to your Kindle for easy reading.
Open Library eBooks This link opens in a new window
Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive. Its goal is to create a webpage for every book ever published. The State Library of NC has contributed books to this project and participates in the lending library, which allows you to download titles to read on your computer or another device.
HomeGrown eBooks Collection via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
This Module from NC LIVE contains a wide selection of content including fiction, nonfiction, mystery & suspense, horror, fantasy, travel guides, and more.