chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Off-Campus Access: Remote Access to Content

This guide will help you locate information resources on online teaching and troubleshoot common issues with access to library resources from off-campus.

 

Remote Access to Content

Off-campus access to content uses the HPU student’s e-mail username and password and most students will have the same experience as they do from on-campus.

The University has a collection of eBooks that is more than double the size of our physical collection. Students using the website have digital access to well over 500,000 eBooks and other monograph resources.

All of the library journal content is provided digitally with access to about 32,000 journals, magazines, newspapers and a host of other materials. Students can link into databases and other resources including but not limited to ProQuest Central with its 16,000 magazine and journal titles, Scopus with access to 24,000 journal titles, PubMed, Jstor for archival journal content.

Multimedia digital content includes access to 100,000 streaming films and documentaries as well as digitized art collections

Content that we do not own can be requested and then delivered digitally via our online interlibrary loan system.


Off-Campus Access

HPU Libraries online resources are available off-campus to those affiliated with the university. You need to go through the HPU Libraries website to access our databases remotely. You will not have full access to HPU-purchased content just searching for the database in Google. Use links to databases listed in Databases A-Z from the library website.

The proxy log-in screen looks like this:

 

If you cannot log in to your email and Blackboard, you will not be able to log in to our resources either, and you will need to reset your password to get everything working again. If you know your login is correct, try allowing cookies in your browser.

The main thing to remember is this: If you are off campus, go through the library website to access library resources!

Chat with us if you encounter issues accessing our content remotely and we will help you troubleshoot.

Saving Permalinks

When trying to share an article with someone or to access an article from a link, those links need to be of a certain kind, often called a permanent link. A permalink will still work when shared outside of your search session and accessed from off-campus. It will begin with the proxy prefix:

https://libproxy.highpoint.edu/login?url=

If you have a link which isn't working, whoever shared the link with you might not have known about this, and may have simply copied the URL from the address bar at the top of the browser. These links will often not work as they expire after your session ends.

Most databases will put the permanent link for an article in one of their toolbox areas. You just have to look for it. It might be called:

permalink (EBSCO)

stable URL (JSTOR)

document URL (ProQuest, under abstract/details page)

bookmark URL (Gale)

persistent link

pervasive link

...or it may be located in a "share" or "save" section of the page, depending on the database.

 

In EBSCO, it is located on the right-hand side:

EBSCO Permalink