Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Industry and market data reports are easy to locate.
These resources require that I consider the same questions as I did in the first part. Who has the data and can I trust a resource? So much of the content that we read online may have been created digitally. Market reports and narratives on specific markets probably had some human input. In many cases, this means that the report will have a higher cost putting it out of the reach of smaller companies or non-profits.
Question 3 - Where can I locate "good" industry data that is free?
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection. Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.
Finding expert industry information that you can trust is tricky. Business Insight has an entire section of Industry reports.
While you are looking at a company - click on the Industries - the next page shows the industry report and you can read and reference that report as a part of your research.
Use can also use the search link and search for an industry and then find and read the report.
Here is what this looks like. Click on the image below to view the report.
This is the ultimate search interface for data. You can search most any term and locate data about the topic.
The canned reports are broken out by industry as well.
Statista is one of the most enjoyable resources to use. It includes lots of data and is mostly image based.
The data is pulled from the best marketing resources. Locate the search box and simply add a topic - company or industry name.
It works well with company information and since it is a global database you find international content.
Here is a search on social media platform use in the United States.
Other Marketing data resources
Market resources tell you how an industry - company or market segment is performing. Information on some markets are harder to find than others. Information on computer technology is pretty difficult but furniture, clothing and shoes are pretty easy. Proprietary company data can be difficult to locate. So do not get frustrated and try these sources!
SimplyAnalytics via NCLIVE
SimplyAnalytics is an interactive mapping tool that allows you to choose from thousands of variables related to demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, and public health to create maps and reports.
Sports Market Analytics (SMA) from SBRNet
A dedicated resource of market research for sport business, SBRNet allows you to locate information by sport, sporting goods, team, market, and more.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States on ProQuest via NCLive
The Statistical Abstracts of the United States were compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau, and represents a collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. ProQuest offers the most recent editions of the Statistical Abstracts.
Trade Associations are groups which support an industry -( https://autoalliance.org/ )
- Normally these groups are supported by the dues of companies within an industry.
- They often set technical standards which will benefit the membership as a whole.
- They promote and often lobby for that industry.
- Market research data they collect can be provided to the industry as a whole and often to interested parties - like you!
Locating a trade association for a particular market/industry.
- Search for a trade association by industry name (where have I seen those industry names?)
- Use the term "association" as a part of the search.
- Many associations use the .org as a part of their web presence to indicate they are an association.