Commentaries
Commentaries are a good way to begin studying a passage of the Bible. Many contain information on the historical setting, the writer's intent, and the meaning or interpretation of the book and passage. The library owns several series of commentaries (see below), which come in multiple volumes - usually one for each work.
The newest commentaries are located behind the Reference Desk in Smith Library. Older sets are located in the stacks on the 3rd floor of Smith Library.
The New Interpreter's Bible: general articles & introduction, commentary, & reflections for each book of the Bible, including the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical books by Call Number: R 220.77 In8neISBN: 068727821X
Interpretation, a Bible Commentary for Teaching and PreachingCall Number: 226.207 H22ma 1993; UCR 226.207 H22ma 1993ISBN: 0804231230
The Expositor's Bible commentary : with the New International Version of the Holy Bible by Call Number: R 220.7 Ex7co 1981ISBN: 9780310364504Publication Date: 1992-06-23
Database Collections via HPU Libraries
- Religion Database in ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowA wide range of primarily full-text scholarly periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion This link opens in a new windowCovers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice, from traditional approaches to Reform, Conservative, Reconstructionist and post-denominational Judaism. Brief definitions and longer essays, all supplemented with bibliographies, enlighten readers about the major figures, folklore, and events in the history of Judaism throughout the world.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church This link opens in a new windowContains over 6,000 A-Z entries, and offers coverage of theology, churches and denominations, patristic scholarship, the bible, the church calendar and its organization, popes, archbishops, saints, and mystics.
- Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion This link opens in a new windowFull text access to over a thousand entries on Islamic theology, history, arts, science, law and institutions, and coverage of Islam in individual countries and cities around the world. Entries are cross-referenced and bibliographies are provided.
- American Methodism Archive This link opens in a new windowThe American Methodism Project is a digitized collection of interdisciplinary and historical materials related to American Methodism.
Journals & Magazines via HPU Libraries
- Journal of Religion and Health
Explores contemporary modes of religious and spiritual thought with particular emphasis on their relevance to current medical and psychological research. - Religion and American Culture
Religion and American Culture is devoted to promoting the ongoing scholarly discussion of the nature, terms, and dynamics of religion in America. - Spirituality in Clinical Practice
A practice-oriented journal that encompasses spiritually-oriented psychotherapy and spirituality-sensitive cultural approaches to treatment and wellness. SCP is dedicated to integrating psychospiritual and other spiritually-oriented interventions involved in psychotherapy, consultation, coaching, health, and wellness.