Where do I start?
Welcome to the research guide for Chemistry! This guide will support your research in Chemistry, Biochemistry, and related fields of study.
The resources listed below are some of the most popular used by students doing research for their Chemistry courses. Depending on your topic, you may want to explore other resources using the tabs on the left side of the guide. Remember, you can always ask a librarian for help!
- The ACS style guide : effective communication of scientific information.Call Number: Quick R 808.0665 C65ac 2006The purpose of the style guide is to answer your questions about the proper methods to structure papers and to cite the Chemical literature. This volume can be found in the reference collection in Smith Library.
- CRC handbook of chemistry and physicsCall Number: R 541.9 H19h 95th ed.Originally called the "Chemical Rubber Company handbook of chemistry and physics", this volume is the standard for chemistry and physics data. It is located in the Reference collection in Smith Library.
- Merck IndexCall Number: R 546.03 M53m 14th ed.The Merck Index is the standard in the field for finding information about the makeup and history of a chemical of compound. In-depth references are included with each entry. The volume is located in the reference collection at Smith Library.
- PubChemUse PubChem is a good starting point to search for chemical compounds. Information listed here includes in-depth content on the compounds makeup.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowSciFinder provides access to journal and patent information on chemicals and chemical formulas. Register to search the SciFinder interface. Please note: you must be campus to register.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA citation search tool that indexes over 75 million articles and records. Each citation contains a detailed abstract and links to its references, along with links to resources cited by. Scopus provides links to full-text articles HPU Libraries already subscribes to, as well as links to publisher pages.
