Related Databases
In addition to the databases listed on the home page, these databases may also be helpful to your research. The library's databases provide access to articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers in a variety of languages. Often, you can limit your search to a particular language. Still not finding what you need? Ask a librarian for help! You can also explore all of our databases through Resources A-Z on the library homepage.
- ProQuest Central via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
- MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Modern Language Association, this resource provides access to scholarly journal articles, books and dissertations on the subjects of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as rhetoric and the teaching of language and literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to historical coverage of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage goes back to the first issue (some as far back as the 1800s), but does not include the most recent issues (usually last 3-5 years).
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of magazines, newspapers, and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of subjects.
New York Times
- New York Times on ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
Current, full-text access to the NYT from 1980 to present. Includes the Late Edition Daily plus the Sunday newspaper.
Foreign Language News Sources
Here are links to some foriegn language news sources. The external links provided are for informational purposes only and not for the purposes of substituting classroom instruction.
- BBC ArabicBBC News in Arabic
- Bild.deNews from all over Germany
- China NewsNews from Beijing and Hong Kong.
- Diário de NotíciasA daily newspaper from Portugal
- El PaisDaily newspaper from Madrid, Spain
- Le FigaroFrom Paris, France
- L'UnitàA daily Italian newspaper
- Mainichi ShinbunA daily newspaper from Tokyo, Japan
- Pravda OnlineOnline version of Russian daily newspaper.
