Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Strategy #3: Turn to Published Articles
Look for statistics reported in journal, news, and magazine articles. If they reference a source, be sure to track it down!
By searching article databases, you can determine if anyone has conducted research into your area of inquiry. You may turn up a journal article with statistical tables on your topic, or you may find out that you have chosen such a unique topic that little to no research exists in that area. Maybe you can be flexible with your topic and find a similar substitute.
Library Databases for Published Articles
This is a brief selection of the 200+ database collections available through HPU Libraries. To find a subject-specific database, check the Databases A-Z list on the library's website.
ProQuest Central via NCLIVE
The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher via NCLIVE
This resource provides in-depth coverage of some of the most controversial topics of our day in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Gale Power Search
Power Search cross-searches across Gale-owned databases, such as Opposing Viewpoints and Gale Virtual Reference Library, to provide access to a wide range of journal articles and reference materials.
Subjects:Art & Design
, Criminal Justice
, Human Relations
, Interior Design & Home Furnishings
, Nonprofit Leadership & Management
, Political Science
, Sociology & Anthropology
, Women's and Gender Studies