The databases listed below will help you find articles and other information for your Human Relations research topic
- ABI/Inform Collection via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
Provides the latest business and financial information, including business conditions, management techniques, business trends, and management practice and theory, as well as full text access to the Wall Street Journal back to 1984.
- ProQuest Central via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
- Google Scholar (HPU-specific link) This link opens in a new window
Use this link to connect Google Scholar with HPU's collection of full-text journals. You will be asked for your HPU username and password if off-campus.
Depending on your research topic, you may find some of these databases useful as well:
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection for communication, mass media, and related fields. Provides article info for over 700 titles, including scholarly journals and trade publications for advertising, public relations, journalism, and other areas.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA citation search tool that indexes over 75 million articles and records. Each citation contains a detailed abstract and links to its references, along with links to resources cited by. Scopus provides links to full-text articles HPU Libraries already subscribes to, as well as links to publisher pages.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
The premier database for education research, ERIC provides access to over 1 million journal articles, curriculum guides, dissertations, reports and other resources.
- PsycINFO via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. This database from the American Psychological Association (APA) contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
Saving Permalinks
When trying to share an article with someone or to access an article from a link, those links need to be of a certain kind, often called a permalink. A permalink will still work when shared outside of your search session and accessed from off-campus. It will begin with the proxy prefix:
https://libproxy.highpoint.edu/login?url=
If you have a link which isn't working, whoever shared the link with you might not have known about this, and may have simply copied the URL from the address bar at the top of the browser. These links will often not work as they expire after your session ends.
Most databases will put the permanent link for an article in one of their toolbox areas. It might be called:
permalink (EBSCO)
stable URL (JSTOR)
document URL (ProQuest, under abstract/details page)
bookmark URL (Gale)
persistent link
pervasive link
...or it may be located in a "share" or "save" section of the page, depending on the database.
For example, in EBSCO collections it is located on the right-hand side:
Skill Module:
This module includes a quick overview of boolean search logic, pro tips for database searching, and insight into time-saving database features.
Review the boxes on each tab, then check your understanding by completing the quiz at the end.