There are three ways to get references into your EndNote library:
(1) Add references manually,
(2) Import PDFs from your computer, and
(3) Import references directly from a database.
1. Add References Manually
The most time-consuming, but often necessary, method is to enter bibliographic information manually. Under References, click on "New Reference." The following box will pop up:
Keep in mind that you will be prompted to save your changes only after you attempt to close this box. Your reference will now appear in your library, like so:
Read on for a couple of easier options.
2. Import PDFs from your Computer
Sometimes EndNote can read bibliographic information from PDF files. If you have a folder of PDFs downloaded to your computer, try importing them into EndNote. You can always edit the reference or create a new reference to attach to the file and fill out any missing information.
 |
To import one PDF, select File-->Import-->File. To import multiple PDFs, select File-->Import-->Folder. The following box will pop up. Now select your file or folder on your computer. Make sure the "import option" is set to PDF. Click import.
|
If the import is successful, the reference or references will be added to your EndNote library:
3. Import References from Databases
Importing references directly from a database is the most efficient way to populate your EndNote library, as you can load multiple references at the same time. The process is slightly different depending on which database you are using. In general, you should look for an EndNote option under "export," "cite," "send," or "save." You will then download a file which you can import into EndNote. Common compatible file extensions include .RIS, .ENW, and .NBIB files. You can do this for a single reference, for multiple selected references or references in a folder, and--in some databases--for all references in a search.
Importing references is similar to importing PDFs. You have to have first download the .RIS, .ENW or .NBIB files from a database. (Database-specific instructions on finding EndNote-compatible export files are given below.) You can then import the files, like so:
|
To import a file exported from a database, select File-->Import-->File. The following box will pop up:
Now select your file or folder on your computer. Make sure the "import option" is set to match the file extension or database from which you are importing. Click import. |
Below are instructions for finding the files to export within popular databases:
EBSCO Databases (Communication & Mass Media Complete, EBSCO eBooks, ERIC, Gender Studies, etc.)
|
|
EBSCO: "EXPORT"
Batch Export: In order to import multiple references from EBSCO databases, create a free EBSCO account and move the desired references into a folder.
You will then have the option to export the entire folder. |
ProQuest Databases (ProQuest Central, Education Journals on ProQuest, ABI/Inform, etc.)
|
|
PROQUEST: "SAVE"
Batch Export: To export multiple references, you don't need to make an account. Just check the box beside items in the search you want to include. The folder at the top right of your screen will populate.
Click this folder to see all your articles--these will be in the folder only for your current session, so do not walk away! When you are ready, open this folder and look for the "save" button. Download the .RIS files. |
PubMed, PubChem, and other NCBI Databases
|
|
PUBMED: "SEND TO"
Batch Export: You can use the "send to" link for an individual article or after checking the boxes beside multiple articles in a Pubmed Search.
|
Academic OneFile, ASAP, Virtual Reference Library and other Gale Databases
|
|
GALE: "CITATION TOOLS" In Gale databases, the export option is found under "citation tools."
Batch Export: As with ProQuest, you can save multiple articles to a session-specific folder. Look for the "save" option next to the item you want to add.
You can then enter the folder and look for the "citation tools" to export them all at once. |
JSTOR
|
|
JSTOR: "CITE THIS ITEM" In JSTOR, you will see a box beside an article that says "cite this item."
Click this and the export options will be at the bottom of the box that pops up.
Batch Export: You can also export multiple items in a search by checking them and clicking "export citations" at the top right. |
