Primary Sources: HPULibraries Resources

Collection of eBooks covering history and literary criticism. Includes a large collection of American slave narratives. Formerly known as ABC-CLIO Ebooks.

A collection of ebooks with a variety of subjects. In particular interest is the History collection which
dives into a variety of global, regional, and national histories in this robust collection

Gale Primary Sources cross-searches three digital archives: The Times Digital Archives, Slavery and Anti-Slavery, and 19th U.S. Century Newspapers. Use this source as a powerful search engine for finding historical newspapers and documents.

HathiTrust is a collaborative of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of over 17 million titles digitized from libraries around the world.

The Times Digital Archive provides full-text access to images and content from the London Times, spanning the years 1785-2014. With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events.

Provides access to articles published in a variety of newspapers and periodicals.

Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.

A collection of women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950, in 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection also contains biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.

A searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Library of Congress. The Sanborn maps are arranged by state, then city and release data. Currently there are over 25,000 sheets from over 3000 city sets online.

Consists of more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries. The content covers a wide spectrum of issues related to the issue of slavery.