Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Database Resources
The following is a list of resources purchased to support medical and health education and research at the University. This is proprietary content meaning that only members of the HPU community have access. You will have to enter your HPU username and password when accessing content from off-campus.
Physical Therapy Databases
AccessOne - all Access collections in one search
An all-in-one database collection that includes, AccessMedicine, AccessMedicine App, AccessPharmacy, and AccessPhysiotherapy.
AccessMedicine provides instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks and allows researchers to connect to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus, which allows students to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
AccessPharmacy provides pharmacy students with a variety of resources for both coursework and reference including instant access to videos, self-assessment, and over 50 leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; enables faculty to create, track, and report their students progress through a curriculum tool that eases workflow; and allows practicing pharmacists to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.
AccessPhysiotherapy provides students with video instruction on rehabilitation techniques, interactive self-assessment questions to prepare for the NPTE exam, and an ongoing lecture series on key neuroscience and neuroanatomy concepts. Students also have access to leading physical therapy textbooks and quick outlines of common conditions and disorders.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text on EBSCO
CINAHL is an authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare and contains the full text of nearly 600 journals.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases with high-quality information on healthcare topics. Content includes systematic reviews, reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials, and Q&A information for point-of-care decision-making.
Google Scholar (HPU-specific link)
Use this link to connect Google Scholar with HPU's Journal Finder. You will be asked for your HPU username and password if off-campus.
Health & Medical Collection in ProQuest via NCLIVE
This resource offers users vital clinical, biomedical, and health journals. Clinical researchers can access high-impact titles including Lancet, New England Journal of Medicine, Nature titles and more. Curriculum-based health videos are a recent enhancement to this resource, offering highly sought after visual content to complement text information sources.
JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association
The Journal of the American Medical Association offers enhanced access to the research, reviews and perspectives shaping medicine today and into the future.".
Nature.com provides access to Nature Research publications and online databases and services, including news and comment from Nature, NatureJobs, plus access to Nature Education's Scitable.com.
ProQuest Central via NCLIVE
The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
PubMed (HPU-specific link)
Comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites. Use Journal Finder for article access.
Provides full-text access to thousands of core titles in the Social and Life Sciences, as well as access to the Elsevier journal collection.
UpToDate and UpToDate Anywhere
UpToDate is a continuously updated medical resource for clinicians. UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence on diagnosis, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care.
For off-campus and mobile use you need to create a login. To create a login with UpToDate you will need to be on the High Point University campus and you will be required to use your .highpoint.edu email account to complete the registration.
MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 950 diseases and conditions. There are directories, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Health Reference Center Academic on Infotrac
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
MedLine Plus Drugs & Supplements
Prescription and over-the-counter medication information is from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian!