Human Anatomy and Physiology Resources
-
Anatomy and Physiology Revealed
This resource can be found on the Access Physiotherapy source from McGraw Hill. Use this link and then click launch to start this program on human anatomy. -
Anatomy AtlasesProvides links to free anatomy atlases
-
e-AnatomyMost images are free to view, others require a subscription.
-
eSkeletonsCreated by the University of Texas at Austin, this site allows the user to view human and non-human primate skeletons.
-
Muscle AtlasCreated by Dr. Michael Richardson of the Radiology Department at the University of Washington, this atlas provides images of the upper and lower extremities.
Athletic Training Health Sciences Databases
-
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks; connects researchers to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus, which allows students to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
-
Access PhysioTherapy This link opens in a new windowVideo instruction on rehabilitation techniques, interactive self-assessment questions to prepare for the NPTE exam, and an ongoing lecture series on key neuroscience and neuroanatomy concepts. Students also have access to leading physical therapy textbooks and quick outlines of common conditions and disorders.
-
CINAHL Complete on EBSCO This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is an authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare and contains the full text of nearly 600 journals.
-
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowWith more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, this collection provides current and scholarly information on the complete range of health care topics.
-
Google Scholar (HPU-specific link) This link opens in a new window
Use this link to connect Google Scholar with HPU's collection of full-text journals. You will be asked for your HPU username and password if off-campus.
-
Health & Medical Collection in ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowContains clinical, biomedical, and health journals. Clinical researchers can access high-impact titles including Lancet, New England Journal of Medicine, Nature titles, and more. Also includes curriculum-based health videos, offering highly sought after visual content to complement text information sources.
-
JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association This link opens in a new windowPublished continuously since 1883, JAMA is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal, and currently the most widely circulated general medical journal in the world.
-
MedLine PlusMedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 950 diseases and conditions. There are directories, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
-
MedLine Plus Drugs & SupplementsPrescription and over-the-counter medication information is from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
-
MicroMedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex maintains 'clinical checklists' for diseases, laying out procedures from diagnosis through treatment. Micromedex also contains a drug database for searching drug information and comparing prescriptions.
-
ProQuest Central via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to thousands of core titles in the Social and Life Sciences, as well as access to the Elsevier journal collection.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowA citation search tool that indexes over 75 million articles and records. Each citation contains a detailed abstract and links to its references, along with links to resources cited by. Scopus provides links to full-text articles HPU Libraries already subscribes to, as well as links to publisher pages.
-
UpToDate and UpToDate Anywhere This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a continuously updated medical resource for clinicians. UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence on diagnosis, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. For off-campus and mobile use you need to create a login. Users must be on campus to create a login, and will be required to use a '.highpoint.edu' email account to complete the registration.
