Griffin, Avalon Regal Theater-Chicago, IL
*Image Courtesy of Benita VanWinkle- HPU Associate Professor of Art
Reference Sources
Reference sources can be a great place to go for background information, definitions, and overviews of a particular topic. HPU Libraries provides access to a number of subject encyclopedia in Theatre and related areas. Not finding what you need? Just ask a librarian!
- EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text ebooks on a variety of topics. Search across the entire collection by title, author, or keywords.
- Bloomsbury Collections (ABC-CLIO Ebooks) via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks covering history and literary criticism. Includes a large collection of American slave narratives. Formerly known as ABC-CLIO Ebooks.
- A Cultural History of Color This link opens in a new window
This 6 volume electronic reference set of the Cultural History of Color examines how color has been created, traded, used, and interpreted over the last 5000 years.
- A Cultural History of Furniture This link opens in a new window
In a work that spans 4,500 years, this electronic reference work contains six volumes that chart changing cultural framework within which furniture was designed, produced, and used in Western Europe.
- A Cultural History of Home This link opens in a new windowSpanning 2800 years, this six volume electronic reference set explores how different cultures and societies have established, developed and used the home.
- A Cultural History of Shopping This link opens in a new window
With the help of a broad range of case material, this six volume electronic reference set illustrates broad trends and nuances of the culture of shopping from antiquity to the present, spanning 2,500 years.
Selected Reference Titles
Brewer's Theater: a phrase and fable dictionary. by Call Number: 792.03 B75br 1994ISBN: 9780062700438Publication Date: 1994-11-01
Broadway Musicals, Show by Show by Call Number: 792.6 G82br 2011ISBN: 9781557837844Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre by Call Number: R 782.8103 En1en 1994ISBN: 0028714458Publication Date: 1994-03-01
Oxford Companion to the Theatre by Call Number: 792.03 H25ox 1983ISBN: 0192115464Publication Date: 1983-10-13
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by Call Number: 792.03 H25ox 1983ISBN: 0198601743Publication Date: 2003-05-01
The Audition Sourcebook: Do's, don'ts, and an online guide to 2,100+ monologues and musical excerpts by Call Number: 792.028 R39au 2002ISBN: 9780325003351Publication Date: 2001-11-05
eBook Reference Sources
- Theatre language: a dictionary of terms in English of the drama and stage from medieval to modern times byCall Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEPublication Date: 1961
Twentieth-century Theatre: a sourcebook by Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9780203214671Publication Date: 2002-09-11
Need Help? Ask a Librarian!
New York Theatre Critics Review
The New York Theatre Critics' Review is located on the second floor of Smith Library in the reference section. This collection covers the New York City Theatre reviews from 1961-1996.
