chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

REL 2099 Blosser Video Project: Free Audio and Image Resources to Use

Audio Resources

Check out these various free online audio resources:

AudioFarm

Amazon Free Music

Amazon has a free selection of MP3s to download, that are easily sortable by genre.
 

 

undefined

Ccmixter

Dig.Ccmixter is a community music site featuring remixes licensed under Creative Commons where you can listen to, sample, mash-up or interact with music in whatever way you want.

 

 

ccsearch

Creative Commons Search

You can use this search tool to find various types of CC licensed items from sources such as Google Images, Jamendo, Flickr, and more. Please note that search.creativecommons.org is not a search engine, but rather offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations. 

 

 

FMA

FMA

FMA stands for Free Music Archive which has a wide selection of high-quality, legal audio downloads.

 

 

undefined

FreePD

A musician scoured the Internet and put many Public Domain songs on this one website free for download.

 

 

Freesound

Freesound

Freesound aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps, all released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse.

 

 

Incompetech

Incompetech

Incompetech hosts a wide variety of royalty free music. You can browse their selection by genre or feel. 

 

jamendo

Jamendo

The world's biggest free music library, which offers free and unlimited listening and downloads. It's got a lot of independent singers posting their music free to use as well.

 

 
 
 
 
MobyGratis

Moby Gratis Film Music

This site is a resource for anyone in need of free music for their independent, non-profit film, video, or short. This site does require creating a free account.

 

 

MusOpen

Musopen

Musopen is a website where you can find free music from individual instruments in an orchestra: violins, cellos, violas, etc as well as a combination of instruments. It caters to the genre of quieter music like classical music or jazz. You can also download sheet music.

 

NASA

NASA Media Archive

Defense Video and Imagery Distruction System (DVIDS) is a state-of-the-art, 24/7 operation that provides a timely, accurate and reliable connection between the media around the world and the military serving in Iraq, Afghanistan, Kuwait, Qatar and Bahrain. Most of these images are not copyrighted.

 

NASA

NoiseTrade

Free albums from many artists.  There is a suggested donation. You will need to register an account to download music.
undefined

 

SoundCloud CC Search

SoundCloud, launched in 2008 by Alexander Ljung and Eric Wahlforss, is a social sound platform that gives users unprecedented access to the world’s largest community of music and audio creators. This CC licensed search will allow you to find uploads to use in your projects.

 

wikipedia

Wikimedia Commons

A database of millions of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute or download.

 

 

YouTube

Youtube now has free music and sound effects to use in your videos in the Creator Studio - located in your YouTube Account.

 

Image Resources

Please check this list of free image resources online:

AmericanImages

American Memory: Library of Congress

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. Many images are copyrighted and can only be used for fair use purposes.

 

artstor

ARTstor

ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes.  ARTstor collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, libraries, photo archives, scholars, artists and artists' estates, and photographers. Our community-built collections are growing rapidly and now exceed 150 superb collections in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Most of these images are copyrighted and can only be used for fair use purposes.

 

biblioboard

BiblioBoard

BiblioBoard is an award winning and web ecosystem that connects library patrons and consumers with digital archives from all over the world - of mostly creative commons and public domain image, audio, and video materials. It is a brand new multimedia experience built around primary source historical content and a growing library of contemporary publisher content focused on historical subjects. HPU Libraries has a subscription to this service. Please push the log in at the top of the screen and use a HPU email address when creating an account. This log in will provide you unlimited access to the database.

 

 

ccsearch

Creative Commons Search

You can use this search tool to find various types of CC licensed items from sources such as Google Images, Jamendo, Flickr, and more. Please note that search.creativecommons.org is not a search engine, but rather offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations. 

 

creativity

Creativity 103

Cr103 is a resource of abstract and unusual stock photography, patterns and textures; all available free-of-charge under a creative commons license.

 

undefined

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. 

 

flickr

Flickr CC Photo Browse

Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license here.

 

flickr

Flickr CC Photo Search

Use this advanced Flickr search to find images by keyword and use the tools at the bottom to filter for only Creative Commons licensed materials that you can modify, adapt and build upon for your own projects.

 

Google Advanced Image Search

Google Advanced Image Search added the option to restrict the results to images that are licensed using Creative Commons. You can use the search box in the link to find images that are licensed using some of the most popular Creative Commons licenses.

 

Geograph

Geograph

This is an attempt by some enterprising souls to photograph the entirety of the British Isles, and they are being kind enough to release all of the photos as Creative Commons.

 

Jstor

JSTOR

JSTOR has the option to search by images.  Previously, JSTOR allowed users to limit results by image.  This feature did not go away, but it has changed in their most recent update.  In order to search images, users will need now to key-word search on the caption field from the Advanced Search page.  The drop-down menus to the right of the search boxes have a "caption" option, which will return content with images. Most of these images are copyrighted and can only be used for fair use purposes.  

 

NASA

NASA Media Archive

Defense Video and Imagery Distruction System (DVIDS) is a state-of-the-art, 24/7 operation that provides a timely, accurate and reliable connection between the media around the world and the military serving in Iraq, Afghanistan, Kuwait, Qatar and Bahrain. Most of these images are not copyrighted.

 

NounProject

The Noun Project

The Noun Project includes thousands of glyph icons from different artists. Some icons are free and some for a fee.  Some images have Creative Commons licenses, while others are in the Public Domain.  

 

Perry Maps

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection

Map images which can be downloaded, organized by region, type and theme. Most are public domain or licensed for non-commercial use. The PCL Map Collection includes more than 250,000 maps, 20% of which is online.

 

Pixabay

All images and videos on Pixabay are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0. You may download, modify, distribute, and use them royalty free for anything you like, even in commercial applications. Attribution is not required.

 

Free Images

Previously Stock.xchng, Free Images is a stock photography community. You can browse their gallery for high quality stock photos or share yours with others. You have to create an account to view the images, but once you do many of the images are free to download.

 

Stock Xchng

TinEye

TinEye is a reverse image search engine. It finds out where an image came from, how it is being used, if modified versions of the image exist, or if there is a higher resolution version.

 

undefined

UNC-Chapel Hill Digital Collections

UNC-Chapel Hill Digital Collections features materials drawn from digital collections made by UNC-CH and collaborations with faculty and partners. The digital collections emphasize North Carolina and the American South. Many digital items include metadata for citing images. Most of these images are copyrighted and can only be used for fair use purposes.

 

Wikipedia

Wikimedia Commons

A database of millions of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute or download.

 

Video Resources

cc search

Creative Commons Search

You can use this search tool to find various types of CC licensed items from sources such as Google Images, Jamendo, Flickr, and more. Please note that search.creativecommons.org is not a search engine, but rather offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations. 

 

 

Detonation Videos

Detonation Films

Looking for explosions, smoke streams or blood splatters? Detonation Films has a host of video clip of isolated bullet hits, fireballs, explosions, muzzle flashes and gun effects. Although most of the videos appear to be 4×3 (SD), they could easily integrate into a HD frame. Added bonus: some of the effects are pre-keyed.

 

 

undefined

Internet Archives: A/V Geeks

A/V Geeks Film Archive is an ephemeral film collection curated by Durham, North Carolina's Skip Elsheimer. His collection has grown to over 24,000 films gathered from school auctions, thrift stores, closets and dumpsters. The Archive features old civil defense and public service films shot by the government in the 40's and 50's.

 

 

Internet Archives

Internet Archives: Moving Images

Since the mid 90’s, Archive.org has been a digital repository for all sorts of digital media. Archive.org has made available more than 2,000 films from the Prelinger Archive on their site. This collection is full of Americana and cultural based films (home movies, commercials, B-movies) from the last 100 years. Many of the films in the archive are in the public domain, but be sure to check the license before using.

 

Internet Archives

Internet Archives: VJ Loops

Short, stylized, loopable video clips, typically used by VJ's. Download from this archive or submit your own works to contribute to this growing community.

 

undefined

Movie Tools

Movie Tools is a great resource for background and graphic video elements. From technical to fantasy, these backgrounds would be great for use under titles, to use in a VJ set or in video reports. Be sure to check out their large selection of video loops as well.

 

NASA

NASA Media Archive

Defense Video and Imagery Distruction System (DVIDS) is a state-of-the-art, 24/7 operation that provides a timely, accurate and reliable connection between the media around the world and the military serving in Iraq, Afghanistan, Kuwait, Qatar and Bahrain. Most of these images are not copyrighted.

 

 

undefined

The News Market

The News Market features clips that are topical and newsworthy, as well as many prepackaged news pieces (VNRs). Great for use as B-Roll in a journalism or documentary piece. You do have to register with the website.

 

OPen Video

Open Video Project

The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities. Most of these films are not copyrighted.

 

 

undefined

Pexels

Pexels Videos offers completely free videos. All videos are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. This means you can edit or change the videos and use them free for personal and even for commercial projects. All without asking for permission or setting a link to the source. So that attribution is not required.
 

 

US National Parks

US National Park Service B-Roll Video

This webpage provides links to public domain videos of National Park Service sites, including national parks, monuments, battlefields, historic sites and related areas. You will need to credit video to the National Park Service.

 

 

Wikipedia

Wikimedia Commons

A database of millions of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute or download.

 

 

undefined

X Stock Video

X Stock offers high resolution clips. Most stock footage on the site is available in HD 720 or 1080 resolutions. To avoid having to sift through all of the clips, use the search link.

 

Unable to locate the requested Account (#64767).