Background Research - ENG/WGS/GBS 3298 - Richard - Women Writing Worldwide

Reference sources are great for background information, definitions, and overviews of a particular topic. HPU Libraries provides access to entire databases devoted to background research, as well as a number of topic handbooks and encyclopedias. Not finding what you need? Just ask a librarian!

Background Sources

Credo Reference via NCLIVE
Credo is a database of background content. It's full-text and can help you learn the basics of any topic. Start your research here to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher via NCLIVE
This resource provides in-depth coverage of some of the most controversial topics of our day in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Gale eBooks
Search individual or multiple online encyclopedias or dictionaries covering a wide range of subjects, from science to education to history.

Find novels, poetry, and short story collections

Words Without Borders
Words Without Borders is an online magazine that publishes translations of works from over 2,200 writers from 134 countries, translated from 114 languages.

Topic Inspiration

TED talks
TED is owned by a nonprofit, nonpartisan foundation. The agenda is to make great ideas accessible and spark conversation.

Films for the Humanities: Films on Demand via NCLIVE
With access to over 33,000 full-length videos, Films on Demand continues to provide educational content across a broad range of subject areas. Includes content from sources like British Pathè, Library of Congress, The Smithsonian, and the Associated Press. Many of these titles are accessible through the HPU Libraries online catalog.

ENG/WGS/GBS 3298 - Richard - Women Writing Worldwide: Background Research

Background Sources

Find novels, poetry, and short story collections

Topic Inspiration