LibGuides: *Pharmacy Subject Guide: Pharmacy Databases

Pharmacy Databases

The databases listed below are some of the most popular used by students doing research for their Pharmacy studies but they support Health Sciences courses as well.

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks; connects researchers to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus, which allows students to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
Access Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos, self-assessment, and over 50 leading medical textbooks; enables faculty to create, track, and report their students' progress through a curriculum tool that eases workflow; and allows practicing pharmacists to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.
ACS (American Chemical Society) Journals This link opens in a new window
The ACS is a leading source of scientific information through its peer-reviewed scientific journals, national conferences, and the Chemical Abstracts Service. Its publications division produces 51 scholarly journals including the prestigious Journal of the American Chemical Society, as well as the weekly trade magazine Chemical & Engineering News.
Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development This link opens in a new window
The newly revised eighth edition of the eight-volume Burger’s Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development is the latest installment in this celebrated series covering the entirety of the drug development and discovery process.
Google Scholar (HPU-specific link) This link opens in a new window
Use this link to connect Google Scholar with HPU's collection of full-text journals. You will be asked for your HPU username and password if off-campus.
JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association This link opens in a new window
Published continuously since 1883, JAMA is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal, and currently the most widely circulated general medical journal in the world.
JAMA internal Medicine This link opens in a new window
An international peer-reviewed journal providing research for practitioners in general internal medicine and internal medicine subspecialties. JAMA Internal Medicine is a member of the JAMA Network, a consortium of peer-reviewed, general medical and specialty publications.
JAMA Pediatrics This link opens in a new window
An international peer-reviewed journal, and the oldest continuously published pediatric journal in the United States. JAMA Pediatrics is a member of the JAMA Network, a consortium of peer-reviewed, general medical and specialty publications.
MicroMedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex maintains 'clinical checklists' for diseases, laying out procedures from diagnosis through treatment. Micromedex also contains a drug database for searching drug information and comparing prescriptions.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Look up information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Natural Medicines also enables users to check how a supplement interacts with other drugs and products.
Nature.com Complete This link opens in a new window
Nature.com provides access to Nature Research publications and online databases and services, including news and comment from Nature, NatureJobs, plus access to Nature Education's Scitable.com.
ProQuest Central via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem provides information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and more for small molecules and some larger molecules.
PubMed (HPU-specific link) This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full text articles from PubMed Central or publisher websites. Use the Journal Finder icon next to article entries to check for access in HPU Libraries' collection.
Sanford Guide Web Edition This link opens in a new window
Integrates Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy, Sanford Guide to HIV/AIDS Therapy, and Sanford Guide to Hepatitis Therapy into a single searchable collection of point-of-care recommendations for the treatment of infectious diseases. Includes interactive features, such as dosing calculators and algorithms.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to thousands of core titles in the Social and Life Sciences, as well as access to the Elsevier journal collection.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A citation search tool that indexes over 75 million articles and records. Each citation contains a detailed abstract and links to its references, along with links to resources cited by. Scopus provides links to full-text articles HPU Libraries already subscribes to, as well as links to publisher pages.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistical data on over 80,000 topics, and reports on companies, products, markets, and industries. Statistics and reports are formatted in clear visualizations and include their citation information, as well as links to related sources and topic reports.
UpToDate and UpToDate Anywhere This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a continuously updated medical resource for clinicians. UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence on diagnosis, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. For off-campus and mobile use you need to create a login. Users must be on campus to create a login, and will be required to use a '.highpoint.edu' email account to complete the registration.

Saving Links

A note about saving links to articles in our databases: please don’t save the main link you see in your browser bar. The link will expire in 24 hours, and you will not be able to return to the article. Instead, click on the permalink or Document URL (you will see either the word or an icon of a link) and copy and paste from there. This is a good practice in any database, ProQuest or otherwise.