Welcome!
Welcome to the Middle East History Resources research guide. This guide has collected many of the most relevant database, catalog and website links, as well a link to the Chicago Manual of Style guide.
Library Resources
- ProQuest Central via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowThe ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to historical coverage of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage goes back to the first issue (some as far back as the 1800s), but does not include the most recent issues (usually last 3-5 years).
- WorldCat on FirstSearch This link opens in a new windowFirstSearch from WorldCat searches libraries worldwide (including Smith Library) for all types of valuable resources, including monographs (books), articles and archival materials (microfilm, microfiche and microform).
If an item is not held by Smith Library it can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
- CIA World FactbookAlthough not specifically a business reference website, the World Factbook provides some wonderful information on countries worldwide including economic profiles and pertinent government information.
- CultureGrams on ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date country reports detailing the history, customs, greetings, societal norms and lifestyle information of over 200 countries.
- US State Department- Countries and AreasReports from the US State Department on countries and areas.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust is a collaborative of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of over 17 million titles digitized from libraries around the world.
