Off-campus access to research content
When you attem
pt to access a library resource, such as a database, from off-campus, you should be prompted to enter your HPU username (without “@highpoint.edu”) and password. Once you enter this information, you should be given access to that resource. Always make sure to use the links located on the library home page, rather than a link from the open web. If you have forgotten your user name or password, or you need to change your password follow this link.
PA & Health Science Databases
-
Prescriber InsightsFnd out how drug therapy changes should fit into your practice. It's unbiased, evidence-based, and 100% free from financial support of the pharma industry.
-
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks; connects researchers to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus, which allows students to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
-
MedlinePlus Drugs, Herbs, & Supplements This link opens in a new window
Look up prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines for information on side effects, dosage, and special precautions. MedLine Plus also enables users to browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
-
MicroMedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex maintains 'clinical checklists' for diseases, laying out procedures from diagnosis through treatment. Micromedex also contains a drug database for searching drug information and comparing prescriptions.
-
UpToDate and UpToDate Anywhere This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a continuously updated medical resource for clinicians. UpToDate presents a comprehensive synthesis of the evidence on diagnosis, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care. For off-campus and mobile use you need to create a login. Users must be on campus to create a login, and will be required to use a '.highpoint.edu' email account to complete the registration.
-
Sanford Guide Web Edition This link opens in a new windowIntegrates Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy, Sanford Guide to HIV/AIDS Therapy, and Sanford Guide to Hepatitis Therapy into a single searchable collection of point-of-care recommendations for the treatment of infectious diseases. Includes interactive features, such as dosing calculators and algorithms.
-
Lexicomp in UpToDate and UpToDate Anywhere This link opens in a new windowA drug analysis tool that allows you to review all interactions for a selected medication or enter a patient-specific regimen to analyze for potential interactions. Additionally, you may select a drug interaction result to obtain specific information on Patient Management, Interacting Members, Risk Rating, References and more.
-
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks; connects researchers to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus, which allows students to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
-
CINAHL Complete on EBSCO This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is an authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare and contains the full text of nearly 600 journals.
-
MedlinePlus via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowBrings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies and health related organizations. This database also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
-
MicroMedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex maintains 'clinical checklists' for diseases, laying out procedures from diagnosis through treatment. Micromedex also contains a drug database for searching drug information and comparing prescriptions.
-
Sanford Guide Web Edition This link opens in a new windowIntegrates Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy, Sanford Guide to HIV/AIDS Therapy, and Sanford Guide to Hepatitis Therapy into a single searchable collection of point-of-care recommendations for the treatment of infectious diseases. Includes interactive features, such as dosing calculators and algorithms.
-
American Family PhysicianAmerican Family Physician (AFP) is the official peer-reviewed journal of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) and an editorially independent, evidence-based, clinical review journal in primary care and provides up-to-date information on clinical topics, the latest diagnostic and therapeutic techniques, and summaries of practice guidelines from major medical organizations.
-
New England Journal of MedicineNEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content. Each year, NEJM receives more than 16,000 research and other submissions for consideration for publication. About 5% of original research submissions achieve publication by NEJM; more than half originate from outside the U.S.
-
Health & Medical Collection in ProQuest via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowContains clinical, biomedical, and health journals. Clinical researchers can access high-impact titles including Lancet, New England Journal of Medicine, Nature titles, and more. Also includes curriculum-based health videos, offering highly sought after visual content to complement text information sources.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowA citation search tool that indexes over 75 million articles and records. Each citation contains a detailed abstract and links to its references, along with links to resources cited by. Scopus provides links to full-text articles HPU Libraries already subscribes to, as well as links to publisher pages.
-
PubMed (HPU-specific link) This link opens in a new windowComprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full text articles from PubMed Central or publisher websites. Use the Journal Finder icon next to article entries to check for access in HPU Libraries' collection.
-
Nature.com Complete This link opens in a new windowNature.com provides access to Nature Research publications and online databases and services, including news and comment from Nature, NatureJobs, plus access to Nature Education's Scitable.com.
-
JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association This link opens in a new windowPublished continuously since 1883, JAMA is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal, and currently the most widely circulated general medical journal in the world.
-
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowWith more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, this collection provides current and scholarly information on the complete range of health care topics.
-
Google Scholar (HPU-specific link) This link opens in a new window
Use this link to connect Google Scholar with HPU's collection of full-text journals. You will be asked for your HPU username and password if off-campus.
-
CINAHL Complete on EBSCO This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is an authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare and contains the full text of nearly 600 journals.
-
American Family PhysicianAmerican Family Physician (AFP) is the official peer-reviewed journal of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) and an editorially independent, evidence-based, clinical review journal in primary care and provides up-to-date information on clinical topics, the latest diagnostic and therapeutic techniques, and summaries of practice guidelines from major medical organizations.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to thousands of core titles in the Social and Life Sciences, as well as access to the Elsevier journal collection.
-
New England Journal of MedicineNEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content. Each year, NEJM receives more than 16,000 research and other submissions for consideration for publication. About 5% of original research submissions achieve publication by NEJM; more than half originate from outside the U.S.
-
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks; connects researchers to more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus, which allows students to browse by symptom, disease, or organ system at the point of care.
-
Access Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos, self-assessment, and over 50 leading medical textbooks; enables faculty to create, track, and report their students' progress through a curriculum tool that eases workflow; and allows practicing pharmacists to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.
-
Access PhysioTherapy This link opens in a new windowVideo instruction on rehabilitation techniques, interactive self-assessment questions to prepare for the NPTE exam, and an ongoing lecture series on key neuroscience and neuroanatomy concepts. Students also have access to leading physical therapy textbooks and quick outlines of common conditions and disorders.
-
Anatomy and Physiology Revealed This link opens in a new windowA multimedia study aid offering an interactive cadaver dissection experience. Includes descriptions, audio pronunciations, and quizzes to reinforce learning.
-
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowWith more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, this collection provides current and scholarly information on the complete range of health care topics.
Saving Links
A note about saving links to articles in our databases: please don’t save the main link you see in your browser bar. The link will expire in 24 hours, and you will not be able to return to the article. Instead, click on the permalink or Document URL (you will see either the word or an icon of a link) and copy and paste from there.
Citation Generators on Databases
Easily generate citations in databases by finding the "cite" icon, often represented as a quotation mark. You can also export files to citation managers like Zotero and Endnote using the "cite" icon as well.
Health Science Library Website
-
Health Sciences Library PageSearch health and medicine specific content available through HPU Libraries.