Research Databases
- CINAHL Complete on EBSCO This link opens in a new windowCINAHL is an authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare and contains the full text of nearly 600 journals.
- ProQuest Central via NC LIVE This link opens in a new windowThe ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
- PubMed (HPU-specific link) This link opens in a new windowComprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full text articles from PubMed Central or publisher websites. Use the Journal Finder icon next to article entries to check for access in HPU Libraries' collection.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to thousands of core titles in the Social and Life Sciences, as well as access to the Elsevier journal collection.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA citation search tool that indexes over 75 million articles and records. Each citation contains a detailed abstract and links to its references, along with links to resources cited by. Scopus provides links to full-text articles HPU Libraries already subscribes to, as well as links to publisher pages.
Searching for Articles
To find an article on a specific topic, you can use one of the library’s many article databases. Our full list of databases is available if you click on Databases A-Z in the left-hand menu on our library page.
To find articles that are scholarly and/or peer-reviewed, you can search Scopus. Scopus is a resource that indexes and abstracts about 24,000 journals. Links to Journal Finder and the publisher website are included. Other databases, such as ProQuest Central, provide an option to limit your search to only those articles that are scholarly and/or peer-reviewed.
If you need help with choosing appropriate keywords, navigating the databases, narrowing your searches and finding full text, please contact us by email or phone or use the chat box on the right-hand side of the library main page.
Finding a specific journal
To find the full text of a specific article, click on Journal Finder in the left-hand menu under “Research.” Enter the title of the journal that the article was published in to see if the library has access to that title. If the library has online access to that title, you will see a computer icon next to the name of the journal. If we have print access, you will see a book icon.
If we have online access, click on the computer icon, and then check to make sure that we have access to that journal for the date that your article was published. If we do not, you may consider trying Interlibrary Loan. If we do own the article, click on the option that will give you access to that date. Find the specific volume and issue number in which your article was published and then locate your article within that issue. Need more help finding full text just contact us by email or phone, or use the chat box on the right-hand side of the library main page.
Accessing Resources from Off Campus
When you attempt to access a library resource, such as a database, from off-campus, you should be prompted to enter your HPU username (without “@highpoint.edu”) and password. Once you enter this information, you should be given access to that resource. Always make sure to use the links located on the library home page, rather than a link from the open web.
If you have forgotten your user name or password, or you need to change your password follow this link.