RESEARCH TOOLS - Encyclopedias
These are just a few the encyclopedias we have in the HPU Libraries, related to World War One.
The European powers in the First World War: An encyclopedia by Call Number: R940.303 Eu7eu 1996 (2nd floor Reference)ISBN: 9780815333517Publication Date: 1996
The United States in the First World War: An encyclopedia by Call Number: 940.373003 Un3un 1995 (3rd floor)ISBN: 0815333536Publication Date: 1995
RESEARCH TOOLS - WWI Histories & Others
This is a small sample of the books we have in the HPU Libraries related to World War One. Ask us for help to find other titles!
Chronicle of the First World War by Call Number: 940.30202 G79ch Vols 1 & 2Publication Date: 1990-10-01This is a day-by-day history of WWI, covering all the fronts and major actions.
The American heritage history of World War I by Call Number: 940.3 M35am 1964Publication Date: 1964Comprehensive history with maps, photos and illustrations.
Fighting the Great War: A Global History by Call Number: 940.3 N31fi 2005Publication Date: 2005Also available as an ebook.
The First World War in Photographs by Call Number: 940.400222 H73fi 2014ISBN: 023300419XPublication Date: 2014
ONLINE WWI Websites
Europeana 1914-1918: "Untold stories and official histories of WWI"
- Provides easy access to over 400,000 digital items, from the national collections of eight countries, including the USA. Contains letters, photos, keepsakes & film materials.
National Archives: “Military Resources: World War I.”
- Produced by the U.S. National Archives & Records Administration; contains essays, photos, bibliographies & much more.
Digital Public Library of America.
- Links to nearly 6 million digital items. Limit your search by using 'World War, 1914-1918' and add further terms with AND. Example: World War, 1914-1918 AND Posters.
Library of Congress: “A Guide to World War 1 Materials”
- This site contains a wealth of photos, period sound recordings, essays, bibliographies, timelines and links to many other collections
Imperial War Museum: This UK museum is a repository for hundreds of thousands of physical artifacts relating to war, including uniforms, medals, weapons, airplanes, etc. Also they have many thousands of photos and paintings, as well as personal memorabilia, such as post cards, letters, diaries, etc.
- 1914-18 Online: International Encyclopedia of the First World WarEnglish-language virtual reference work on the First World War. The multi-perspective, open-access knowledge base is the result of an international collaborative project involving more than 1,000 authors, editors, and partners from over fifty countries.
RESEARCH TOOLS - HPU Databases
Use the following databases to search for materials:
- Artstor via JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigital library of over one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities and social sciences. From the linked JSTOR homepage, click the "Images" tab to search the visual materials collection.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to historical coverage of scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage goes back to the first issue (some as far back as the 1800s), but does not include the most recent issues (usually last 3-5 years).
- ProQuest Central via NC LIVE This link opens in a new window
The ultimate cross-disciplinary research tool, ProQuest Central brings together 30 of our most highly used databases to create the largest single academic research resource available today.
Kaiser Bill "Wanted" Poster, 1918
SEARCH TIPS
Most catalogs and databases use the following subject term for WWI searches: World War, 1914-1918. Add terms to this to further narrow your search.
For example: World War, 1914-1918 AND Histories will find histories of WW I.