Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Publicly Available Streaming
These websites are free streaming resources. Use the search boxes on all of these webpages to try and find specific topics that you are looking for in your teaching or research.
Some of our free streaming resources offer Closed Captioning; look for the CC next to the resource.
Annenberg Media - CC
Teacher professional development and classroom resources across the curriculum.
Civil Rights Digital Library (some captioning)
The Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL) features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. The CRDL provides educator resources and contextual materials, including Freedom on Film, relating instructive stories and discussion questions from the Civil Rights Movement in Georgia, and the New Georgia Encyclopedia, delivering engaging online articles and multimedia.
Described and Captioned Media Program - CC
Free-loan described and captioned educational media is available to students who are deaf, blind, hard of hearing, visually impaired, or deaf-blind. This educational media is made accessible to the deaf and hard of hearing via captioning and to the blind and visually impaired via description. With over 4,000 titles (and growing!) available for viewing, the DCMP is continuing to provide equal accessibility to these students and the professionals who serve them.
Discovery (some captioning)
Includes footage and shows about topics such as science, history, space, technology, sharks, and news.
Folkstreams.net (not captioned)
A national preserve of documentary films and streaming essays about the traditions of American roots culture. The site includes transcriptions, study, and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
Frontline - CC
Documentary films and thought-provoking journalism.
Great Performances - CC
Great Performances brings the best in the performing arts from across America and around the world to a US television audience. It presents a diverse programming portfolio of classical music, opera, popular song, musical theater, dance, drama, and performance documentaries.
Internet Archives (not captioned)
Internet Archives is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies and music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages.
Library of Congress American Memory Project (not captioned)
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Media that Matters - CC
Media That Matters is the premiere showcase for short films on the most important topics of the day. Local and global, online and in communities around the world, Media That Matters engages diverse audiences and inspires them to take action. From gay rights to global warming, the jury-selected collection represents the work of a diverse group of independent filmmakers, many of whom are under 21. The films are equally diverse in style and content, with documentaries, music videos, animations, experimental work and everything else in between. What all the films have in common is that they spark debate and action in 12 minutes or less.
Museum of Broadcast Communications Archive (not captioned)
The mission of the Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC) is to collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educate, inform, and entertain the public through its archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications and online access to its resources. More than 8,500 digitized television and radio programs are available once again for public viewing in the MBC archives.
NBC Learn - CC
NBC Learn has already digitized more than 12,000 stories from the NBC News archives, one of the largest news archives in the world, dating back to the 1920s. In addition, collections are updated with current events every day, Monday through Friday, with stories from such celebrated programs as NBC Nightly News, the TODAY show, Meet the Press, Dateline NBC, as well as the networks of MSNBC, CNBC, and Telemundo.
NOVA - CC
NOVA is the highest rated science series on television and the most watched documentary series on public television.
PBS Videos - CC
Watch award-winning national programming and locally produced shows, with categories such as Masterpiece, NOVA, science and nature, history, and This Old House.
PBS LearningMedia - (some captioning)
PBS LearningMedia is a website for trusted, classroom-ready, curriculum resources from PBS.
PBS POV (not captioned)
Television's longest-running showcase of independent nonfiction film.
Radio Locator (some captioning)
Radio-Locator.com is one of the most comprehensive radio station search engine on the Internet. They have links to over 13,000 radio stations' web pages and over 7300 stations' audio streams from radio stations in the U.S. and around the world.
Southern Foodways Alliance Documentary Films (not captioned)
The Southern Foodways Alliance documents, studies, and celebrates the diverse food cultures of the changing American South.
SnagFilms (not captioned)
SnagFilms.com offers the broadest collection of great independent movies you can watch right now, on demand, for free, and share with others – films that entertain and inform, engage and inspire, satisfy every taste, encourage discovery and create community.
Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive (not captioned)
This online catalog provides access to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum’s Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive. The Archive serves as a comprehensive informational and archival resource worldwide for moving image materials pertaining to the Holocaust and related aspects of World War II. Staff continue to locate, acquire, preserve, and document historical film footage from sources throughout the United States and abroad. The collection can be searched by subject, title, source, copyright, keyword, language, location, event date, and genre.
TED: Technology, Entertainment, Design - CC
TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Along with two annual conferences, the TED Conference in Long Beach and Palm Springs each spring, and the TEDGlobal conference in Edinburgh UK each summer, TED includes the award-winning TED Talks video site, the Open Translation Project and TED Conversations, the inspiring TED Fellows and TEDx programs, and the annual TED Prize.
UbuWeb (not captioned)
UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts.
WGBH Open Vault Media Library and Archives (not captioned)
Open Vault is the home of WGBH Media Library and Archives (MLA). They provide online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.
Foreign Language Television
Broadband TV Broadcasts
Includes Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish TV from various countries
Includes Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Quechua(?), Russian, and Spanish TV from various countries.
Includes Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish TV from various countries.