DESIGN Print Reference Books
The Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes by Call Number: Folio 391.00903 R11hi 1988 (3rd Floor)ISBN: 9780816019762Publication Date: 1988This work condenses Racinet's classic six-volume set, History of World Costume (1876-1888), and translates it into English for the first time. Its text and 2,000 illustrations, most in full color, cover worldwide costumes from ancient Egypt to nineteenth-century Europe--royalty, the working class, soldiers, and the poor. High school libraries should consider acquiring this volume.
The Design Encyclopedia by Call Number: R 745.44403 B99de 1994 (2nd Floor- Reference)ISBN: 9780471024552Publication Date: 1994
Encyclopedia of Interior Design by Call Number: R 747.03 En1en 1997 v. 1 & 2 (2nd Floor- Reference)ISBN: 9781884964190Publication Date: 1997Looks at interior designers and furniture makers including: Robert Adam, Inigo Jones, van der Rohe, Thomas Sheraton. Also looks at specific styles, including : the Amsterdam school (Dutch expressionist architecture), the Arts and Crafts movement, Art Deco and Art Nouveau, Celtic revival, Colonial revival, Egyptian revival, Empire style, Federal style, Regency style, Rococo, and Shaker design.
Encyclopedia of Textiles by Call Number: 677.003 J47en 1992 (3rd Floor)ISBN: 9780816021055Publication Date: 1992Covers all aspects of textile design, including manufacture, care, and use.
Encyclopedia of American Architecture by Call Number: R 720.973 H91e (2nd Floor- Reference)ISBN: 9780070480100Publication Date: 1994-08-01Contains 202 articles describing the major elements of American achitecture. Includes building types, systems, materials, structures, and periods in architecture.
The Penguin Dictionary of Decorative Arts by Call Number: R 745.03 P38pe 1989ISBN: 9780670820474Publication Date: 1990
Dictionary of Architecture and Construction by Call Number: R 720.3 H24di 2000ISBN: 9780071351782Publication Date: 2000
A Dictionary of Modern Design by Call Number: FM 745.40904 W85di 2004ISBN: 9780192800978Publication Date: 2005-02-17
DESIGN e-Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780684314518Publication Date: 2004A three-volume survey of clothing, costume and fashion, presented through 640 essays, arranged alphabetically. Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras. For students and researchers at the high-school level or higher.
The Art of Fashion Illustration: learn the techniques and inspirations of today's leading fashion artists by Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINEISBN: 9781627881722Publication Date: 2015
Space Planning for Commercial and Residential Interiors by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780071381918Publication Date: 2003
