Property: Study Aids

"This book is designed to provide a structured approach to learning estates and future interests. It provides a detailed analysis of all major concepts as well as a vehicle for students to self-assess their understanding and progress"--Preface

This concise work discusses most rules covered in real property casebooks. The text is divided into three sections. Part One provides an overview of property interests by covering lost v. mislaid v. abandoned property, adverse possession, gifts, common law estates, future interests, landlord-tenant law, concurrent ownership, marital property rights, easements, profits, licenses, real covenants, and equitable servitudes. Part Two covers conveyancing, including real estate brokers, contracts of sale, deeds, recording, title insurance, and mortgages. Part Three covers a variety of property rights and liabilities, including airspace, water rights, the right to support, agreed boundaries, fixtures, trespass, nuisance, and land use regulation.

This reference guide provides an authoritative summary of personal property that will enhance your ability to distinguish between title and possession. Teaches by example, using a set of readily understandable situations. Also includes the origins of substantive rules of law and procedure.

This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses outline-like checklists that are designed to lead students through the analytical steps necessary to evaluate and resolve property issues. Each chapter begins with a review and explanation of the important rules, concepts and principles that govern a particular area of property law. The review material is then synthesized into a checklist. Each chapter concludes with practice problems and solutions that illustrate how students can use the checklist to analyze property issues when writing their exams. Although other study aids may offer summaries of the law and practice questions, none offer the systematic analytical approach represented by the checklists in this book. In addition, the fourth edition includes:Two full-length, four-hour practice essay exams (with model answers)A new Master Checklist for issue-spotting essay questionsUpdated discussion and Chapter Checklists for new developments in the lawNew exam tips for regulatory takings and real covenants questionsAdditional discussion of bailments, co-ownership, servitudes, and real estate transactionsUpdated cross-references to additional supplemental sources for further reading

There is no better way to improve your understanding of property law doctrines, concepts, and theories and to evaluate your progress in a course than to engage with rigorous practice exam questions. This updated study guide provides more than 200 multiple-choice, true/false, and short answer questions arranged topically and designed to test your comprehension as you learn. And, there is practice exam with more than 50 questions that covers most of the subjects taught across a semester in the typical property law course. The correct answers to all the book's practice questions are available to compare against your own responses.

This book is for a Property student's use both before and after class, and it also summarizes the fundamentals of property law in preparation for a final examination, including the Bar Exam. Its text is based on the casebooks on Property in widespread use in this country, with its subjects arranged in the order in which they are typically presented. New to the 7th Edition: Many more in-text Examples in Part IV, Transfers of Land, Chapters 21-25 New text on new forms of real estate brokerage, Chapter 21 Many more in-text Examples in Part VI, Chapters 31-32 An updated text on the United States Supreme Court's takings cases, Chapter 34 Professors and students will benefit from: A focus on examination questions after each Chapter In-text Examples to investigate features of each Chapter's text as each Chapter presents them A presentation of areas of the law only referenced in class Better preparation for class

Emanuel® Law Outlines for Property, Tenth Edition, by Steve Emanuel focuses on those topics that are important in today's Property courses and includes an abundance of short-answer and multiple-choice questions and answers as well exam tips.

The subjects discussed in this outline are possession (including wild animals, bailments, and adverse possession), gifts and sales of personal property, freehold possessory estates, and future interests (including reversion, possibility of reverter, right of entry, executory interests, and rule against perpetuities). Also included are tenancy in common, joint tenancy, and tenancy by the entirety, condominiums, cooperatives, marital property, landlord and tenant, and easements and covenants. This outline also covers nuisance, rights in airspace and water, right to support, zoning, eminent domain, sale of land (including mortgage, deed, and warranties of title), and methods of title assurance.