Lexis+ State Secondary Sources: North Carolina

North Carolina Bankruptcy Practice Manual - The Seventh Edition addresses the continuing effect of the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention & Consumer Protection Act of 2005 ("BAPCPA"), and includes case law developments as well as changes to Official Forms, Bankruptcy Rules, local bankruptcy rules, and other practices and procedures affecting bankruptcy.

NC General Practitioner's Guide to Business Law is an addendum to the expansive and popular NC General Practice Deskbook (2004), this new supplementary publication, the NC General Practitioner's Guide to Business Law, provides the general practitioner with updated information related to business law

For more than 30 years, Robinson on North Carolina Corporation Law has been the authoritative reference on corporation law in North Carolina. Updated with complete coverage of the new laws affecting corporations in North Carolina, each edition maintains the style, reliability, and comprehensiveness of the earlier editions. It provides complete coverage of significant case law developments, placing a special emphasis on corporate control and governance.

North Carolina Unfair Business Practice is the only publication providing comprehensive guidance on the complex world of consumer protection, and unfair and deceptive trade practices in North Carolina. Focusing heavily on North Carolina General Statute 75-1.1, this publication's importance and prominence has grown steadily through the years, as the area of unfair business practices continues to expand. An essential resource for any attorney advising businesses on appropriate trade practices or representing clients potentially harmed by unfair business practice, North Carolina Unfair Business Practice provides expert analysis of the statute through detailed examination of hundreds of cases interpreting its provisions.

Indispensable collection of forms for North Carolina civil practice to save you hours of drafting time.

Elements of Civil Causes of Action in North Carolina - breaks down over 35 of the most common North Carolina civil causes of action into their component parts. Chapters are organized alphabetically by cause of action and are heavily annotated with pertinent citations to controlling authority, so that what you get is the very essence of current North Carolina law in a concise and convenient format which will save you hours of research time.

North Carolina Appellate Practice and Procedure is a comprehensive guide for the appellate advocate. A resource for both the bench and the bar, it offers detailed exposition of the statutes, rules, cases, and customs that govern North Carolina appellate practice and procedure. Organized around the chronology of an appeal process, practitioners can turn to this treatise for critical insight on the application and interpretation of the Appellate Rules, practical guidance, and historical context.

North Carolina Civil Procedure, authored by G. Gray Wilson, is a comprehensive guide for the practitioner. It covers every step of a lawsuit from filing to conclusion. The text of each of North Carolina's Rules of Civil Procedure appears in full, with accompanying analysis by the author, and the relevant case law applying and interpreting the rules. Wilson reviews the history and construction of the North Carolina's Rules of Civil Procedure and reveals the logical thread running through them. This edition is conveniently organized for quick access in the courtroom, with each chapter numbered to its correspond rule.

Intended as a basic text of primary reference, this deskbook is designed to be a well-grounded starting point for the general practitioner approaching a new problem or an unfamiliar area of the law. This four-volume set contains foundational information and sample forms to provide a sound beginning for further research in the substantive areas covered.

NC General Practitioner's Guide to Litigation (2013) is an addendum to the popular NC General Practice Deskbook which provides updated information related to litigation and is designed to be a well-grounded starting point for both the general practitioner and attorneys in a small firm with a variety of practice areas.

The North Carolina Manual of Complaints is a quick reference guide to a broad spectrum of complaints in the areas of Automobile Torts, Employment Law, Premises Liability, Products Liability, Medical Negligence, Consumer Areas of Practice, Nursing Home Litigation, General Negligence and Commercial Litigation. Edited by Kimberly T. Miller, a leading attorney and NC Advocates for Justice member, many of the complaints added to the Seventh Edition reflect new laws and others are tried and true examples from attorneys across North Carolina. The nearly 1900 page manual contains 9 chapters with more than 100 complaints, and includes practice tips and pointers for each set of complaints. This new edition is a must-have resource for all trial lawyers in North Carolina.

The NC Paralegal Resource Binder is to provide an additional resource to North Carolina paralegals beyond the division's ethics manual. This second edition is instrumental in the practice of all paralegals no matter field or years of experience and provides updates to the original edition and expands its coverage with two new chapters on e-Discovery and Internet resources, bringing the manual up-to-date on legal technology.

North Carolina Small Law Office Resource Manual - is designed to provide practical and concise answers to these and many other everyday law practice management questions.

This two-volume treatise, now in its second edition, authoritatively analyzes the law of contracts, both under North Carolina’s common law and its Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code. Frequently quoted and cited by North Carolina’s appellate courts, North Carolina Contract Law analyzes in detail more than two centuries of contract law, and is updated annually.

North Carolina has more roadway miles than any other state except Texas and every motorist is a potential traffic client. So, knowing the basics of traffic law is important. The ABCs of Traffic Law: Do's and Don'ts of Traffic Court discusses 26 topics that all attorneys think they know, or may have heard something about, or had a client call them about that one time. Each topic explores a bit beyond the surface of the statute, or consequence, or potential difficulty. No one reading this needs to be taught the basics of traffic law, but attorneys do need to be reminded of the law beyond the fundamentals. This book is the perfect reference guide to help attorneys accomplish just that.

North Carolina Criminal Procedure is a comprehensive reference to the rules, statutes, and case law affecting criminal procedure in North Carolina. This Treatise continues to be the highly regarded comprehensive reference to the rules, statutes, and case law affecting criminal procedure in North Carolina.

Klinkosum on Criminal Defense Motions provides a practical, authoritative, and comprehensive overview of motions practice in North Carolina. It discusses the common types of motions typically filed by criminal defense attorneys, along with practical guides and forms to help attorneys determine which motions to file and what sources to consult in litigating a criminal case. This book was previously called North Carolina Criminal Defense Motions Manual, authored by Mike Klinkosum, a leading North Carolina criminal defense attorney. In this new Third Edition with a new name, Klinkosum on Criminal Defense Motions pays tribute to the man who put a tremendous amount of time into creating the definitive guide to criminal motions practice in North Carolina.

Search and Seizure contains a logical progression through the topic of search and seizure. It is intended to present an understandable discussion of the basics of search and seizure law. The presentation of the topic begins with a discussion of what a search is and ends with the exclusionary rule. The burden of suspicion chapter is followed by a discussion of search warrant law. Arrests and stops are explained as well as the law as it applies to automobiles. Each facet of warrantless searches is then discussed individually. The depth of "consent" is covered. "Plain view" situations are compared with "open view" analysis, and emergency theories.

This publication covers the relevant laws for representing clients charged with DWI in North Carolina and provides a step-by-step trial notebook - fingertip access to the most important statutes, regulations, and case law related to DWI defense. The easy-to-use reference includes a practical insert outlining NHTSA clues and SFST protocols created by Doug Scott of Drugs & Alcohol Risk Management, Inc. This book has a long history. David R. Teddy of Teddy, Meekins & Talbert, P.L.L.C., in Shelby, North Carolina, developed the original version of this publication (The DWI Trial Notebook) in February 2005. A second edition was published in 2007. Today, Andrew Banzhoff and N. Cole Williams are editors of this publication, now retitled Teddy's North Carolina DWI Trial Notebook to honor David Teddy's immeasurable inspiration and contribution to his profession.

LexisNexis Practice Guide: North Carolina Environmental Law, written by Professor Maria Savasta-Kennedy at the University of North Carolina School of Law, covers everything the practitioner needs to practice environmental law in North Carolina. The publication details the environmental regulatory structure and procedures in the state and covers air and water quality; wetlands and coastal management; solid and hazardous waste; and energy regulation. The Practice Guide also includes chapters on mineral, land, and natural resources in North Carolina, as well as environmental justice and climate change. With helpful practice tips and notes, LexisNexis Practice Guide: North Carolina Environmental Law explains environmental law in the state as it impacts both the general practitioner and the specialist steeped in the field's complexities.

Brandis and Broun on North Carolina Evidence has long been recognized as the most comprehensive and authoritative source on North Carolina evidence law. This edition presents updated analysis of recent case law, statutory, and rules developments that affect the introduction of evidence in North Carolina courts. Author Kenneth S. Broun, Henry Brandis Professor of Law at the University of North Carolina, continues the authoritative tradition of evidence law expertise that Brandis and Stansbury established over the past five decades. Following the organization of the Rules of Evidence, to make your research faster and more efficient, this two-volume set provides commentary and analysis of all recent cases dealing with evidentiary rules and issues decided by the North Carolina Supreme Court and the North Carolina Court of Appeals. It also includes United States Supreme Court cases that affect North Carolina evidence law and references to pertinent law review articles.

North Carolina Evidence Courtroom Manual offers attorneys and judges many trial-tested features that not only provide fast, accurate answers to evidentiary questions, but also guide the user to the underlying authorities and secondary sources. Written by Walker J. Blakey and Glen Weissenberger, two of the nation's most widely published evidence scholars, and Charlotte attorney Dean P. Loven, North Carolina Evidence Courtroom Manual provides quick, authoritative answers to evidence questions arising in trials and hearings.

Learn how to address and overcome evidentiary problems in North Carolina courtrooms. North Carolina Evidentiary Foundations brings North Carolina evidence law to life, showing you how to frame foundational questions to gain admission or exclusion of evidence. The book includes specific lines of questioning, demonstrating courtroom-proven trial techniques that apply North Carolina evidence law.

LexisNexis Practice Guide: North Carolina Estate Planning is a practice-oriented resource designed to assist attorneys in guiding their clients through the estate planning process. The author is an expert estate planner in the state of North Carolina. This practice guide provides concise discussions of North Carolina estate planning principles, complete with in-depth analysis of the fundamentals of estate planning; preparing for the client meeting; trusts; wills; and power of attorney.

North Carolina Estate Administration Manual, Seventh Edition (2010/2012) is a great procedural guide that has proven to be helpful to lawyers and paralegals, thereby improving the quality of probate practice in NC through the use of systematic and uniform procedures.

Simplify the complex process of probate and estate administration with North Carolina Probate and Estate Administration with Forms, which is designed specifically for attorneys, paralegals, clerks, and judges practicing in North Carolina. Packed with practical guidance and indispensable tools, this resource empowers practitioners to handle estates with confidence and efficiency. Features include step-by-step instructions for key procedures, insightful commentary on North Carolina statutes and case law, and an extensive library of sample forms, pleadings, and checklists. This treatise combines legal analysis, procedural guidance, and practical tools in one comprehensive package organized to parallel the step-by-step procedure of probate and estate administration, saving practitioners time and reducing risk of error. Its ready-to-use forms and customizable templates provide attorneys a competitive edge. This treatise is an indispensable tool for estate practitioners in North Carolina, whether managing a straightforward probate or navigating complex estates.

Reynolds on North Carolina Family Law analyzes the present-day reality of domestic life. This definitive work gives you comprehensive coverage of the substantive law involved in family relationships in hundreds of circumstances. Contents include: In-depth discussions of the marriage relationship from engagement to dissolution, Every aspect of the parent-child relationship, Complete coverage of all North Carolina case and statutory law, as well as other relevant material. Expert analysis of issues involving contracts, torts, evidence, constitutional law, and property in a broad survey of the law controlling family relationships.

LexisNexis Practice Guide: North Carolina Family Law provides the practitioner with an overview of the areas frequently dealt with in the practice of family law in North Carolina. Each chapter discusses the applicable principles of law and references statutes and cases. This practice guide includes many commonly-used and helpful forms, including sample pleadings, orders, and contracts, for the practitioner.

North Carolina Family Law Marital Claims Manual, Third Edition, provides updated case law, ethics, telephone directory, resources and tax information. Designed as a starting place and a foundation, it sets out with brief annotations the elements of claims, lists of applicable statutory provisions and the major cases.

Indispensable research tool with step-by-step guidance and expert strategies on each phase of an insurance coverage dispute.

Often the availability of UM/UIM coverage and securing all separate sources of such is the key to properly compensating persons seriously injured by financially irresponsible motorists. The book includes a detailed look on the background and historical development of uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. When researching the issues for UM/UIM and reading older cases, it is particularly important to have the correct version of the statute. Therefore, the appendix to Chapter 1 contains all substantive statutory changes to the Financial Responsibility Act including UM and UIM coverage. Chapters 2 through 5 address the Insuring Agreement, UM/UIM Procedural Issues, UM/UIM stacking, and UM/UIM in Commercial Policies, a rapidly developing area due to recent statutory changes and case law. Chapters 6 and 7 address arbitration and the interplay between workers' compensation and UM/UIM coverage.

LexisNexis Practice Guide North Carolina Workers’ Compensation is designed to assist practitioners and commissioners in the nuts-and-bolts of every day practice within the North Carolina Industrial Commission. The Practice Guide assists practitioners in taking a case from start to finish, spotting the issues when doing so, finding solutions for litigants, and resolving disputes competently.

Practitioner's Guide to North Carolina Employment Law is a comprehensive resource that offers practical advice and current, straightforward information and analysis on the status of employment law in North Carolina. The Second Edition of this publication includes the following chapters: - At-will Employment and Contracts for Employment - Wrongful Discharge in Violation of Public Policy (WDPP) - N.C. Retaliatory Employment Discrimination Act (REDA) - North Carolina Wage and Hour Claims - Covenants Not to Compete and Trade Secrets - Employment-related Tort Claims A must-have resource for your employment law practice, this guide includes an index of sample pleadings for key employment law cases.

North Carolina Workers' Compensation Law: A Practical Guide to Success at Every Stage of a Claim is a must have reference guide for all North Carolina workers' compensation practitioners. This 22-chapter publication addresses recent changes to the North Carolina Workers' Compensation Act and guides practitioners through all stages of a workers' compensation claim. This workers' compensation manual does not merely recite the statute and case law-it provides in-depth analysis of legal issues and offers practical advice from experienced North Carolina workers' compensation practitioners on a wide range of topics including litigating injury by accident and occupational disease cases, fighting obstacles to appropriate medical compensation, handling death claims and third party actions, defining and proving disability, calculating average weekly wage, and much more.

Lawyers in North Carolina have long relied upon Webster's Real Estate Law in North Carolina as their authoritative reference. This classic handbook remains the single most important source for real estate law in the state. It presents the North Carolina courts' holdings on virtually thousands of questions concerning property law and contains updated standard real estate forms approved by the North Carolina Bar Association, and a new Table of Cases. The book also covers the fundamental principles of the law of real property as developed and defined by North Carolina legislation and judicial opinion.

North Carolina Real Property Forms Book - This must-have, multivolume set provides over 300 Real Property documents to assist the real property practitioner. It is comprehensive, easy to use and includes every Real Property form you need.

North Cartolina Law of Torts is a comprehensive guide to tort law in North Carolina. Part I of North Carolina Law of Torts covers intentional torts and defenses; Part II is devoted to negligence and defenses; Part III discusses strict liability and defenses; and Part IV covers a variety of other torts overlapping these categories. "Scope Notes" at the start of each chapter describe the subjects covered and refer to related issues in other chapters for easy cross-referencing. A Table of Cases and Table of Statutes help save you time and focus your research, while the index eases your search for specific areas of tort law.

The North Carolina Prima Facie Tort Manual is a quick reference guide to the elements and case law of every recognized tort in North Carolina, including Automobile Negligence, Fraud, Medical Malpractice, and Wrongful Death claims. This bestselling resource shares valuable information on parties including agency, piercing the corporate veil, conspiracy, compensatory and punitive damages, and the statutes of limitations on all torts.

In this Fourth Edition of the North Carolina Personal Injury Liens Manual, readers will find several original chapters completely re-written to reflect new state laws, including the ERISA and Medicare chapters. This 700+ page manual provides fingertip access to more than 35 sample forms, letters, and complaints, and includes dozens of practice tips and pointers. It also contains the text of relevant state and federal statutes, regulations, and case law. Edited by Christopher R. Nichols, a leading personal injury attorney and NCAJ member, this comprehensive and user-friendly fourth edition is a bestselling publication that is intended to help simplify the complexity that characterizes personal injury liens, and to provide information you need to secure maximum net recovery for your clients.

Personal Injury Practice in North Carolina is a practical guide that covers the most common questions in personal injury law, including practical tips on how to analyze and investigate these cases. This publication is a must-have resource for your personal injury practice! The 2017 supplement includes updates about client interviews, locating and preserving evidence, insurance coverage, soft tissue injury cases, punitive damages, UM/UIM arbitration, premises liability and disbursement of settlement funds.