Criminal Law: Secondary Sources

This popular casebook, through the selection of classic and modern cases, provides an excellent tool for teaching students the common law foundations of the criminal law and modern statutory reforms, including the Model Penal Code. Along the way, the casebook considers modern controversies (e.g., "shaming" punishment, capital punishment, broadening sexual assault law, self-defense by battered women, police use of force in making arrests, euthanasia, the role of culture in determining culpability), offers exceptionally helpful and interesting (sometimes even humorous) Notes and Questions to guide students, and even "brain teasers" to confront (as the Preface states) "the Big Questions . . . that philosophers, theologians, scientists, and poets, as well as lawyers, have grappled with for centuries." The Ninth Edition, as in the past, includes new cases, as well as updates in the Notes that bring current criminal justice to the fore. The casebook also includes a highly useful Teacher’s Manual that not only discusses the cases and potential answers to questions in the Notes and Questions sections, but provides suggestions/advice on budgeting time for the materials.

This Handbook is a comprehensive guide elucidating the complexities of evidentiary principles. This indispensable resource delves into the legal principles governing witness examination and cross-examination, expert witnesses as well as exploring the admissibility, competence, and compellability of witnesses. From dissecting the relevance and admissibility of evidence to unravelling the rules governing document admissibility, this Handbook provides a thorough understanding of the legal principles.

Criminal Law: The Essentials provides a brief yet comprehensive introduction to this fascinating and ever-evolving field.

This collection, by leading legal scholars, judges and practitioners, together with theologians and church historians, presents historical, theological, philosophical and legal perspectives on Christianity and criminal law. Following a Preface by Lord Judge, formerly Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales, and an introductory chapter, the book is divided into four thematic sections. Part I addresses the historical contributions of Christianity to criminal law drawing on biblical sources, early church fathers and canonists, as far as the Enlightenment. Part II, titled Christianity and the principles of criminal law, compares crime and sin, examines concepts of mens rea and intention, and considers the virtue of due process within criminal justice. Part III looks at Christianity and criminal offences, considering their Christian origins and continuing relevance for several basic crimes that every legal system prohibits. Finally, in Part IV, the authors consider Christianity and the enforcement of criminal law, looking at defences, punishment and forgiveness.

This handbook consists of essays on contemporary issues in criminal law and their theoretical underpinnings. Some of the essays deal with the relationship between morality and criminalization. Others deal with criminalization in the context of specific crimes such as fraud, blackmail, and revenge pornography. The contributors also address questions of responsible agency such as the effects of addiction or insanity, and some deal with punishment, its mode and severity, and the justness of the state’s imposition of it. These chapters are authored by some of the most distinguished scholars in the fields of applied ethics, criminal law, and jurisprudence.