CALI Lessons
The Center for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction offers numerous lessons on civ pro topics. You can find all the lessons here: https://www.cali.org/category/1l-first-year-lesson-topics/civil-procedure or arranged in a subject outline here: https://www.cali.org/content/lessons-subject-outline-civil-procedure Contact echilton@highpoint.edu to set up your account.
West Academic Study Aids
The West Academic Study Aids Collection provides electronic access to hundreds of study aids, written by noted law school professors, that cover virtually every law school course. Civil Procedure materials can be found here: https://subscription.westacademic.com/Search?subjectFilter=23&sort=document-views
To set up your account, choose "Create an account," enter your information including your HPU email, and choose "High Point University School of Law" from the institution dropdown menu.
Aspen Learning Library
Aspen Learning Library provides a library of study aids in ebook format, as well as audio and video content. Log in to your HPU account for off-campus access. No secondary account is needed, but making one allows you to save favorites and create highlights and notes.
Books
-
Acing Civil Procedure
by
Call Number: RES KF8841 .S654 2024ISBN: 9798887861272Publication Date: 2024-01-11Moving beyond the outline format used by most students, this book uses a checklist format to lead students through the questions they need to ask and answer to fully analyze the legal questions they are trying to resolve. It assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but this book offers a systematic approach to problem solving. -
Civil Procedure in a Nutshell
by
Call Number: RES KF8841 .K36 2022ISBN: 9781685610142Publication Date: 2022-08-08Rules of civil procedure govern everything that happens outside of criminal proceedings. This Nutshell provides a road map to navigating civil procedure rules and helps build a foundation for understanding the overall picture. Topics discussed include: jurisdiction, venue, and other court-selection issues; pleading, discovery, summary judgment, and other pretrial matters; adjudication, judgments, and appeals; multi-party/multi-claim proceedings, including class actions and multidistrict litigation; plus standing, the Erie doctrine, arbitration, and other important procedural issues. The new edition covers all the subjects dealt with in today's civil procedure courses, whether four or five or six hours in length. -
Emanuel Law Outlines for Civil Procedure
by
Call Number: RES KF8841 .E525 2018ISBN: 9781454897460Publication Date: 2018-07-18Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. -
Examples and Explanations for Civil Procedure
by
Call Number: RES KF8841 .G58 2023ISBN: 9781543839333Publication Date: 2023-03-07With this ninth edition of Civil Procedure: Examples & Explanations, Joseph Glannon’s uniquely entertaining style teaches and engages students in all aspects of the first-year Civil Procedure course. Accessible introductions and explanations combined with a proven pedagogy in the popular Examples & Explanations format that is effective for learning and applying the fundamental concepts and rules covered in the Civil Procedure course. -
Gilbert Law Summary on Civil Procedure
by
Call Number: RES KF8841 .C535 2022ISBN: 9781636595993Publication Date: 2022-07-14The topics discussed in this law-school study outline include territorial (personal) jurisdiction (including venue and forum non conveniens) and subject-matter jurisdiction (covering diversity jurisdiction, federal-question jurisdiction, removal and supplemental jurisdiction). The Summary provides an accessible explanation of the Erie doctrine and federal common law. It introduces contemporary doctrine on pleadings (including counterclaims, crossclaims, amendments and supplemental pleadings) and joinder of parties (including joinder and class actions). Coverage also includes discovery. -
Questions and Answers: Civil Procedure
by
Call Number: RES KF8841 .D67 2022ISBN: 9781531023737Publication Date: 2022-01-01Questions and Answers: Civil Procedure is a supplementary text for use primarily by first-year civil procedure students to obtain a clear understanding of the subject. The book is divided into easy-to-find subject areas so students can pinpoint the questions where they need more review. For students seeking a comprehensive review of civil procedure, the book also includes a sample exam covering a wide array of civil procedure subjects.
